Skip to content

My Buddy

September 2, 2011

I was reading a girl’s blog this week and she was asking the question, “Where have all the men gone in Christianity?” Isn’t there anything else to talk about? I am really tired of the habitual man bashing that goes on inside of the world we call Christianity. It is like everything in modern society is some man’s fault. Enough is enough. The problem is greed, but I’ll save that for a different blog. If you haven’t figured out life with men is just messy. It is never going to be easy, so we need to invite the tough men back into Christianity. I am going to let you in on a little secret about a man (My Buddy) that I admire, and has discipled me personally over the last ten years. I think he is a real man. This is a list of some of his behaviors and characteristics.

1.            He probably drinks more than most people do, because he always has wine with his friends.

2.            He is frequently seen hanging out with prostitutes.

3.            He is constantly out with his friends, and he is never at home.

4.            His friends are not the best of characters either; most folks don’t like them.

5.            He has a pretty bad temper at times, and is always starting arguments.

6.            His parents weren’t very wealthy.

7.            He is always mooching money off of other people, and women pay for everything He does.

Now how many Christians would allow this man to teach your children? He is my mentor. You see the real problem is that there are plenty of men out there, and they are doing great things, but they are not welcome in churches or in modern Christianity. I doubt he would be either; the man above is Jesus! If you are interested in the specific scripture references for each line Item I will be glad to email them to you. You will have to ask!!!

The world has asked us as men to become something that Jesus never asked us to become, WIMPS!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. DrT permalink
    September 2, 2011 6:54 am

    enjoyed this one, I shared it on FB–hope thats ok. yes coffee is a good idea, I think I might have changed the directio of my own book. I would love to get you input

    • September 2, 2011 7:01 am

      I am sure I will get some hate mail on this one, but I just read the book. What’s today look like?

  2. DrT permalink
    September 2, 2011 7:29 am

    sure you wiimes the truth stabs like a knife particularily when you are outside of it. Today isn’t so good. I could do lunch next week, or coffee later on Wed

  3. Rosa permalink
    September 2, 2011 9:30 am

    Oh, Gosh. I love it.

    • September 2, 2011 11:18 am

      Thanks Rosa! Not to many comments today. Very few brave people left!

  4. September 2, 2011 12:21 pm

    Mike, I think alot of people would read that and know the scripture references for every one of those examples given about Jesus, but few would want to acknowledge that without knowing it, we have adopted the lifestyle of the Pharisees instead of grasping the depth of who Christ really is. We accept the grace of Jesus and then cheapen it by polishing the outsides of the cup over and over again… Most Christians understand that we can cheapen it by not following Christ with our actions, but I often forget that I can cheapen the grace even more by trying to live out of my own ideas of what my life should look like on the outside instead of the inside.
    Paul talks about “freedom in Christ” repeatedly, but I wrestle with wondering if I really get that. Jesus was able to live like He did, because He was truly free. Free from the peer pressure of the day, free from bondage to traditions, ceremonial goodness, false pretense, and yes, free from sin, so I wonder what that would look like if I really understood that type of freedom. I have heard countless people speak of this freedom, but I am still wondering what it really looks like???

    • September 2, 2011 4:01 pm

      I am getting closer Kelly, but I have a long way to go. I think the closer you get the more your chances of being crucified elevate. Love your honesty brother, and cherish your friendship.

  5. Rosa permalink
    September 2, 2011 7:09 pm

    I just have to comment again. I used to think of Jesus as this quiet,passive,’nice’ man. The more I grow in intimacy with God, the more I see Him as being a radical. I like that,it gives the impression of a man that knew Who he was, he knew where he was going, and he didnt care what someone thought of Him, yet He could be the kindest, most compassionate, and ever so compelling. I used to be guilty of trying to ‘tone down’ the rough edges of my husband and sons, but it shuts them down. Now, I love to watch them being distinctly male. (most of the time) And, honestly, they havent become cave men, they are actually quite charming and civil without my help,( well, maybe a little help) and still aren’t wimps. I think that we have tried to feminize men too much, and yet we want them to be leaders.

    • September 3, 2011 5:41 am

      Rosa,

      Your comment means more to me than anything I have read this week. Jesus was not a nice guy, but he was good. In our society we equate being gentle and kind with Christianity and it is not true. Our society has been lulled into sleep and we are losing the faith our lives were built on. Where are all the leaders? We have castrated them. Thanks for reading my stuff. Share it with your friends, and God Bless You and your message. I would like to have your permission to use this reply in a post sometime.

      Mike

  6. Rosa permalink
    September 3, 2011 8:02 pm

    You have my permission. I’m glad I stumbled across your blog,you write with such transparency,it is refreshing. God Bless.

  7. September 5, 2011 3:14 pm

    Well said! I have a strong dislike for anyone who lumps people into groups because of gender, race, or gifting. We all need to remember that men and women have both received much criticism in the current culture, and some, therefore, become what the culture tells them they should be (myself included have had to overcome some yucky stuff). But if we will listen and learn to believe what Jesus says we should be, then we will become that instead. So here’s a big shout of encouragement for strong men to rise up and not be perfect, just love Jesus!

    • September 6, 2011 9:17 am

      Thanks Robin for the encouragement. Men need to hear this from Godly women like you. Hope all is well; keep writing.

  8. Judson permalink
    September 6, 2011 4:15 pm

    Some of us are out fishing, shooting and going to dirt track races with our kids. I am still exploring the freedom to “feel”. I know I checked out from emotion, passion and ‘feeling’ for a long time, years in fact. I wasn’t going to let things effect, affect or ‘get to me’. I was a sheeple. When I think of the sheep that the Sheppard has to go find…. I want to be THAT one. I know he was out enjoying life with passion and possibley a little reckless abandon. DOn’t get me wrong, I never want to stray so far that I loose the Sheppard’s voice, but I have never liked following the herd, as the view rarely changes and the smell isn’t that pleasant.

    Love you Brother and all you do!

  9. September 6, 2011 4:21 pm

    Thanks Judson! Love you to man!

  10. September 7, 2011 11:37 am

    Jesus definitely kicked ass and took names.

    • September 7, 2011 8:26 pm

      Yes he did Kyle. I’ll see if I can’t find the girls blog. It was on WordPress somewhere.

  11. September 7, 2011 11:38 am

    So, I’m curious, where was this blog that inspired this? thanks, Kyle

Leave a Reply

