Skip to content

Blind Spots

August 29, 2011

We all have blind spots. My son Michael has a tendency to wake up irritated and stay that way most of the day unless someone pulls him out of it. I decided it was time for a father-son talk about this particular piece of his attitude. It didn’t go well until I explained to him that everyone has blind spots, and you needed people around you that you trust to speak into these places in our hearts. Also, ice cream is the ultimate relationship gap prescription for such conversations. Thank God for Dairy Queen. This morning he woke up with a much better attitude about his life. Sometimes we just need to be reminded how good we have it.

I have a blind spot as well. I love writing, but I am really not sure why. There are a lot of people who read my stuff, but for the life of me I can’t figure it out. I just write about what is on my mind, or heart; I also look for God in it. Is He trying to teach me something? He still speaks by the way; you have to listen. For the most part my blog is very much like my journal.

I have hired a marketing company to help me build Eyes of the Heart into something more than what it is today. I see women and men struggling to break free from debt, bad religion, addictions and live a life of purpose and meaning. One of the guys that I am working with asked me, so what does your blog do for your readers? I said, “Well, I don’t know.” So I spent the afternoon yesterday brainstorming, nothing. I think I may have a blind spot. What does it do for my readers? I don’t think I really know.

So today’s blog is about help for me; if you have received anything from reading my blogs, or you would like to tell me why you read them at all I would be grateful. I need feedback for my marketing company, or I would have done better to take a vacation with that money.

Thanks up front from a man who is still trying to find his place in the world, or better yet honing in my skills. Thanks for reading!!!!

35 Comments leave one →
  1. scotto4u@att.net permalink
    August 29, 2011 10:58 am

    Mike,
    Your blog speaks to the man who is out there looking for direction and comments from a real man after God’s heart. Mike your are a real man seeking God.. and his direction… straight forward writing that addresses real problems that every man faces today. Keep up the GREAT work… Scott

    • August 29, 2011 8:32 pm

      Thanks Scott! That means a lot coming from you as I work through this process. It is hard to see our affect on someone unless they are willing to share. Love you brother! Tell Sage I said hello!

  2. Jan permalink
    August 29, 2011 11:16 am

    As a wife and mother of two boys, ages 13 & 11, it is very beneficial and insightful to me. It allows me to see things from a different perspective which is good.

    Real life speaks! Thanks for what you do.

    • August 29, 2011 8:33 pm

      Thanks Jan! Tell Terry I said hello. If any insight I may have helps you to keep those boys from some of the pitfalls I have faced then writing this blog is worth it. Thank you!

  3. Eric Herrington permalink
    August 29, 2011 12:45 pm

    I enjoy reading your blog because I hear God answer questions I’ve asked him. You are open and transparent in what you are going thru and how God talks to you and leads you and people need to know you can have a REAL relationship with God.

    • August 29, 2011 8:34 pm

      Thanks Eric. I wish I had figured it out at your age. It would have been great to learn the knowledge that you are learning so young. keep those guys in your group on your speed dial. Allow them to be Jesus with skin on it for you!

  4. jennygoth permalink
    August 29, 2011 12:51 pm

    i read it because i find opinions interseting and entertaining xxjen

    • August 29, 2011 8:36 pm

      Thank Jenny for reading mystuff. Hope it helps! I know it feels good for me when I get some of it out of my heart and onto paper, so to speak. Thanks!!

  5. III permalink
    August 29, 2011 12:54 pm

    Your blog entries often reflect a thought or concern I have in my own life. In sharing your story, I’m able to associate and know that I am not the only one that deals with these issues and concerns.

  6. Jorge Liceaga permalink
    August 29, 2011 1:31 pm

    I’ll tell you why I read your blog. I know that you are a man of God that has made and is continuing to make the inward journey. In my opinion, that is enough reason to read your blog. I wouldn’t care at all if you had no credentials or many credentials. That is not the qualifying factor. You strike me as a man of hunger for more from God and his people and life. What more is there? I am on the same journey and can use all the clues I can get my hands on. Your notes are short and sweet, yet, often give me much to contemplate. Is there a way to improve the blog? I don’t know. I have not found myself thinking along those lines. If I had to make a suggestion, I might suggest notes that might play along a theme. But then again, is that really how real life works? I don’t think so. The human mind and spirit are designed by God to meander sometimes and sometimes to focus on a particular challenge. In other words, the human mind and spirit are designed to be free in their contemplations and meditations. If I ever think of any way to improve the blog, I’ll let you know. I hope that helps. I say, just keep doing what you’re doing unless you are suggested something that overwhelms your heart with a new direction. The journey is not a straight line but more like a meandering trail with thrills, boredom, wonder, danger, and who knows what else.

    • August 29, 2011 8:37 pm

      I am glad to be on the journey with you Jorge! I wish I could see you guys more than I do.

  7. Rosie McDade permalink
    August 29, 2011 2:20 pm

    Fresh pair of eyes, easy to relate to (not a joke, I know we’re related), REAL and without excuse. Truth and truth seekers reveal blind spots for us all. Thanks-just keep writing.

    • Rosie McDade permalink
      August 29, 2011 2:21 pm

      that was from your sister, I’m on Mom’s computer HA!

    • August 29, 2011 8:38 pm

      Thanks Sue Baby!

  8. Tim Cook permalink
    August 29, 2011 2:33 pm

    Mike, I read your blogs because you always seem to speak to something relevant in my life.(And without the religious crap that I was used to reading in other devotionals for so long). I love how you are not afraid to address things that all of us think, but are scared to rock the boat by saying out loud. Thanks for what you do!

    Tim

    • August 29, 2011 8:40 pm

      It doesn’t win me a lot of points with the Religious Spirit if you know what I mean Tim. Love you brother! Take what you learned a week ago and step into who you are. I have believed in you sense the day I met you! I may should hold my tongue sometimes.

  9. August 29, 2011 4:31 pm

    To me it’s really simple. I am in pursuit of being a better person, and part of that search involves seeing what others do to enrich their lives. I guess another way to phrase it would be a search for new and improved behaviors. If I’m hung up on an old problem and attempting to solve it with the same “pair of eyes”, it’s beneficial to look through someone else’s.

    That’s what your blog does for me, Mac. It gives me a look at life from a different perspective. And I must say it has been VERY helpful! Thanks brother

    • August 29, 2011 8:41 pm

      Thanks Coop! You have know idea how much that means coming from you. Keep growing and don’t quit God is using you!

  10. Jeff A permalink
    August 29, 2011 7:35 pm

    You have good eye’s and a caring heart. You are country smart and that might be the best smart there is. You are good for my soul because thats where so much of your writing comes from… you are soulful, real, accessible, honest and all that reaches my heart. You are funny and take lots of risk to say it like you see it and that is courageous.

    Jeff

  11. August 29, 2011 9:12 pm

    Mike, You speak the truth of your heart and how God leads you. This helps others find their way. You are the pioneer that maps a direction for lost travelers in the wilderness. I see your writings as road signs for others to learn from. We may not follow all the signs we see, but we have your insight to show that others have been there and experienced what we have. We are not alone. We are understood. What good do you do? Ripples in the water my friend, ripples in the water that continuously go out and reach others we dont even know. Keep the faith and the good works. I believe in you.
    Love ya,
    Kenneth

  12. August 30, 2011 7:53 am

    Mike, your blog helps me to survive life, to rejoice life and to continue my journey. Your offer direction, truth, transparency, hope and more. As Christians we need men like you in our lives. We need stimulation of thought, a place for reflection and a place for self assessment….someone to kick us out of our comfort zone. You have that gift brother and God is using it to reach others. I read something earlier on Eldridge’s site that I will leave with you. He states, “when we begin to offer not merely our gifts but our true selves, that is when we become powerful.” Stay in the fight….love you brother.

  13. Rosa permalink
    August 30, 2011 4:19 pm

    It is encouraging to me,there are a few blogs I read regularly,because they speak the language of my heart…I think…Why cant I say it like that?! Its exactly what I’m feeling within! Keep writing,its a gift. I wish I could write.

    • August 30, 2011 5:02 pm

      Rosa, thanks for the kind words. The hardest thing to do is write what you feel, ut with practice I promise you can do it too. Thanks for the comment.

  14. August 30, 2011 8:11 pm

    I agree with Jan, real life speaks. That combined with truth from the Word, reminders that God is speaking, and His solutions for daily life is like handing a loaf of bread to the hungry. Sometimes we don’t realize how long we’ve been hungry for we didn’t realize that we weren’t eating! Keep feeding us what comes from the heart and God will make it manna.

    • August 30, 2011 8:43 pm

      Thanks Robin. That means a lot to me coming from you. I have enjoyed reading your stuff. Keep up the inspirations.

  15. Dan Ainsworth permalink
    August 31, 2011 2:42 am

    Your blogs are helpful. If I have cancer, I want to hear from any and all doctors. But hearing from someone in the same sitution and how they are facing it, is extremely helpful. If I hit the big time lottery, I want to hear from any and all financial advisors. But hearing from someone in the same situation and how they are facing it is extremely helpful….. So in good or bad times, hearing (or reading) from someone in the same situation is extremely helpful. You and I are in the same situation (both on a journey). Keep it real. See Ya!

    • August 31, 2011 3:07 am

      Thanks Dan. Coming from a veteran like you that means a lot to me. Can’t wait for you to get out here. I need allies!

  16. Beau Beeson permalink
    August 31, 2011 6:10 am

    Mike,

    I read your blog because often I find it directly relates to me and my situations in life. Some of your insights cause me to reflect on things in my past and sometimes comtemplation for the future. I like that it give me a different perspective on resolving issues and sometimes provides me a true course to follow. Keep up the great work.
    Beau

    • August 31, 2011 6:55 am

      Thanks Beau! I hope things are going well for you. Send me an email sometime, and maybe we can talk.!

  17. Roane Hunter permalink
    August 31, 2011 7:08 am

    Hey bro,
    I read your blog because you had me at hello! I was like John leaping in the womb when we met – a spirit thing! Some people you meet in life there is a spiritual connection and you are one of those people. Your ability to speak from your heart and your self awareness are rare things in this upside down world we live in. Your life is an encouragement to me and how you are passionately pursuing the call of God in your heart and living that out. I am pushing through the old attachments, following Him and heeding His call – full of hope, fear, joy, anxiety, peace, excitement, all of the above!….but pushing through…and your story gives me strength and hope. You remind me of Elihu – the young dude that shows up in Job 32 (okay maybe not the young part) – he’s the one who calls the older guys total frauds and bootlickers and says he tried to keep quiet but couldn’t stand it and now he has to speak and say what’s on his heart! There are way too many frauds and bootlickers in churchianity hiding behind masks and cliches – thank God for the Mike McDades of the world – God is raising up men like you to lead others to His heart and ultimately discover their own hearts in the process! Love you brother…..bend the sails!

    • August 31, 2011 7:19 am

      It feels good when someone knows your heart, and can see who you are. I feel the same way about you Roane. You are genuine, honest and I miss seeing you bad. I would love you to guest blog on my site about your life.

  18. August 31, 2011 12:13 pm

    Mike,
    I really appreciate your blog because there are alot of people out there who want to offer the answers or at least their versions of the answers, but there don’t seem to be many willing to leave a question unanswered. I know in my own walk, God teaches me much more through the tough questions that I never answer than through the digested answers of others. We have to be ok with the questions, b/c in those, we can’t hide behind our pride or puffed up knowledge. We are left walking in the mystery of faith and love, seeking Christ even more. So, thanks for being willing to ask the questions!

    • August 31, 2011 12:59 pm

      I love you brother! You are one of the truly good Pastors of people I have met in my life. You allow me the freedom to disagree with you without it destroying the basis of our friendship. We both love Jesus and there is no one that can question that. Love you brother, and what you stand for in life.

  19. DrT permalink
    September 1, 2011 2:01 pm

    All these great comments, I dont know that I can add anything. Maybe its because there is nothing better on TV–kidding

    I have been thinking about authenticity lately. We men have a shortage of authentic mentors and brothers. We have a tendancy to enaciously hold onto holographic images of what it means to be a man. When those evaporate we are left without and wanting. Actually, that is my theory on why sports stars cant seem to stay retired–they have no idea how to live without the adulation. They have no idea how to move into the next stage of life, mentoship and discipleship.

    You, my friend, give permission to flounder and explore. You make it normal and heartfelt. You mentor by brotherhood. You speak into the hearts of men, speaking their ‘name’ saying, “Yes you can, you really are a man.”

    Now, there might be something on TV….

    • September 1, 2011 2:14 pm

      Thanks T. That means the world to me coming from you. We need to get together and have coffee soon. I have been working on something I would love to share with you!

Leave a Reply

