Skip to content

The Nile is Mine

August 24, 2011

I have really been struggling with direction lately; there are so many opportunities out there that need help. Monday an opportunity to minister to someone I care about came across my path, so I wrestled with God that night about whether to take it on. Was I doing it just to promote my ministry, or was I doing to help someone out? It is amazing the messages that creep into our heads when we begin to step into a story bigger than ourselves. It’s like this force of nature trying to keep us from becoming who we really are. I was tired of wrestling with God, my internal demons and everyone else, so I decided it was best if I slept on the idea.

The next morning I got up to spend time with God. A couple of times a week I allow Him to take me in scripture where he wants me to go, so I found myself in the book of Ezekiel, and my eyes were drawn to the chapter about the curse placed on the king of Egypt because he pride fully declares to his constituents “The Nile is Mine”. I wondered if God was telling me to quit striving so hard with my own efforts, but to rely on Him to bring the opportunities to me. Why God? Why do we all feel we have to strive so hard to be successful? God gently reminded me of some vows that I had made with Success, and that I needed to denounce these. Wow?

In the book of Matthew, Jesus speaks of making vows, He says,”You don’t make your words true by embellishing them with religious lace. In making your speech sound more religious, it becomes less true. Just say “yes” and “no”. When you manipulate words to get your own way, you go wrong.”

Was God telling me I was trying to manipulate the situation to glorify my ministry?

Even as I write it a yucky feeling comes over my soul. Lord, if I have made any vows that are untrue about striving to be successful, or prideful beliefs/vows that so how I am responsible for the growth of Eyes of the Heart, or any other ministry opportunities I have I denounce those vows and hand them back to you. Please take care of them and me.

Do you have vows that you need to denounce? What is your Nile?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Chino permalink
    August 24, 2011 7:50 am

    So, don’t eat the bread of anxious toil, because no matter how hard you work to achieve anything, God has lifted off your back the final responsibility for it’s success, and God can accomplish more good for those who trust him while they sleep than they can accomplish with anxious labor while awake.

    ‘One must reach the point of “not caring two straws about his own status” before he can wish wholly for God’s kingdom, not his own, to be established.’ Death to ambition as such will be the beginning of new life. Above all, the part of a man which puts success first must be humiliated if a man is ever to be really free.

    • August 24, 2011 7:56 am

      Much easier said than done when every voice inside your culture eats, breaths and lives success as the unlitmate goal. Thanks for the insite Chino!!! Thanks for reading my stuff!

  2. Eric Herrington permalink
    August 24, 2011 9:53 am

    He’s constantly molding you into the man that can carry well, the weight of your life and this is the training grounds…situations like that.

    • August 24, 2011 10:32 am

      Thanks for the kind words Eric. Great getting to know you at Timbercreek.

Leave a Reply

