Skip to content

Glimpses of Heaven

August 21, 2011

This weekend has been a long one; we had a soccer tournament over the weekend that included five games in the sun. What is really bad is that we really needed to work on the house, because it hasn’t fully recovered from our Yellowstone trip a month ago, or me being gone last weekend for a retreat in Mississippi. We walked into the house completely exhausted. First, my son and wife decided to go to Wal-Mart, and then my youngest and a family friend decided to go play basketball. It was amazing somehow I found myself completely alone.

I decided to take advantage of my current situation, so I poured a glass of wine and headed for my king-size tub in my bathroom. I have loved to soak in a tub since I was kid after a long day. I started the water and turned off the light, so maybe I could lower my anxiety level. Then my mind began to race as I sat in the dark room drinking my wine. I can’t believe we lost the championship game, I have to call my web designer in the morning to discuss a time frame, and I have to get out of this bathtub and work on next week’s schedule; sound familiar?

At that moment I realized I needed to breath. Slowly my racing mind subsided and I begin to relax. I am not sure if it was the warmth of the water around me, or the sweet wine that I begin to taste after slowing down my mind. Maybe it was the sunset of the western sky creeping through my window and casting a light glow over the room, but suddenly I realized that God was there. I realized that He was watching me slow down, and then I began to realize I was experiencing a glimpse of heaven.

I laughed at my ignorance to recognize such a peaceful and restful experience. I wondered what God thought of my ridiculously ADHD mind. I imagined he was like my grandfather, smiling down watching me relax and enjoying the moment with me, wondering why it took me so long to recognize his presence. Jesus needed these moments too. There are many instances in scripture where He retires to rest and listen for His Father’s voice.

I pray that you can slow down to see the glimpses of heaven when you are experiencing them. Think about God in those moments and be thankful. Thanks for my time God!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anzaholyman permalink
    August 22, 2011 9:07 am

    Amen may the peace of God overtake you….

Leave a Reply

