Skip to content

Inception

August 1, 2011

I started this blog over a year ago, and according to the statistics within WordPress over 12,700  people have read my blog at some point since its inception. I started it because I wanted to share with people what it looks like to walk through everyday life watching for God in the details; I call it seeing life through the Eyes of the Heart. I didn’t have much of an agenda. I just wanted to encourage others to look for God even in the craziest of details. He is there!!!

It has been amazing the blessings I have received from writing this blog, and many times the encouragement that I needed to continue. There were many times I wrote a blog I felt was some of my best writing and no one read it. Then there were times when I wrote something wondering if people would think I was crazy and it was read by hundreds and a few times thousands. I watched my writing skills get better, my grammar improve, but most importantly my faith in people expand. God is using my writing as a tool to bring others closer to Him. I am amazed and humbled. I wanted to share some of the blessings that have been attributed to some of the readers on this blog.

1.  Eyes of the Heart contributed over $10,000 for Sky Corral Ranch because of you guys and a matching grant that was in place doubled that amount.

2.  I published my first magazine article this year because of this blog.

3.  Hundreds of people have thanked me, my mom and the staff of Eyes of the Heart for the encouragement they received from this blog.

4.  For the first time since I started Eyes of the Heart Ministries I actually get paid a monthly salary (very small, but it really helps my family – THANK YOU).

5.  And my heart has been encouraged by comments that I needed to hear when I felt like giving   up!

I love the people who read my blog, and I wanted to publicly thank some people who continue to bless me through their words: Beth Elliot, Ralph McLelland, Jeff Andrechyn, Cooper Brown, Kim Curtis Hill, Jack Page, Lynn Ryan, David Morse, Roane Hunter, Reggie Britt. Karen Wilson Zimpfer, Jeff Brown, Jorge Liceaga, Ashley Faulk Keller, Chip Ledbetter and last but not least my mom (Rosie McDade). I am sure I left off a bunch of names, and not intentionally, but these people have lifted my heart when I needed a kind word and strength to continue to give to others. I just wanted to tell you thanks! I love you guys! You are Jesus with skin on for me!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. DrT permalink
    August 1, 2011 1:02 pm

    I had an idea for you to think about. I think one of the big ‘men’ issues is our inability to fully communicate. We are so hidden and afraid, we have lost the knack of honest communication without filtering it through the masks we display so easily. I think the blog allows the mask to be removed somewhat and helps to develop confidence in what someone beleives and says. What about a formal ‘blog therapy’ regimen?

    Also, in September our church is going to have a mens only Sunday School talking about men issues based on the Richard Rohr book, “From Wild men to Wise men” want to participate?

    • August 1, 2011 3:05 pm

      We need to have coffee and explore the first one. I want commit to September, but I still may come. Call me for coffee.

  2. Jorge Liceaga permalink
    August 1, 2011 2:29 pm

    Wow Mike! God is really amazing! Thanks for sharing that awesome good news. I pray the blessings keep coming your way brother. I certainly have been touched and blessed by your blog and I hope it continues as the love of the brethren continues! Hebrews 13:1.

    • August 1, 2011 3:03 pm

      Thanks Jorge! Help me spread the word by posting it on your Facebook page. I have two web pages I am working on for other purposes that will be coming soon. Thanks for your support.

    • August 3, 2011 5:35 am

      Thanks Jorge, I was away from the computer all day yesterday. AMEN!

  3. August 2, 2011 11:42 am

    God bless you, Mac. If I haven’t mentioned this before, I’ll tell you now: when I first saw this blog, I was impressed and envious! I thought it was so cool that you were sharing your wisdom and experience with others through such an available form of media. Later on, when my spiritual progress seemed to come to a stand still, God reminded me of you, and what you were accomplishing with your blog. So, I figured, “Hey, if Mac can do it, maybe I can do it!” You inspired me to reach out, and for that, I am grateful.

    Reading your words reminds me that God is doing for me that which I cannot do for myself.What a gift it is to be alive today! I love you brother!

    • August 3, 2011 5:38 am

      Amen Cooper. Loved your last blog too. It is really about living minute to minute seeing God working in the details of our lives and the lives of others. You are gifted at writing. Keep going. Dr. T has asked me to start a blog therapy group. Would you be interested in being a guest writer? Helping others with your own story is the point of testimony, and boy do we have stories. Love you Coop!

  4. August 2, 2011 3:03 pm

    Mike the stats are awesome!! Thanks for sharing what’s on your mind and thanks for sharing what you experience in others, but most of all thanks for being real. You encourage us, you help us to take a look at ourselves (good or bad) and you help us to continue grow. God is working through you. Love you man! Stay in the fight….

  5. Rosie McDade permalink
    August 6, 2011 9:24 pm

    It is so awesome for me to read your blogs, and then the comments of your fellow readers, knowing that your sharing with them, has been an inspiration in their lives and in their relationships with their lord. Plus otherwise they may not have a relationship with him at all. God Bless you Mike and I still miss you terribly. I miss our talks and sharing and laughing about things together…our relationship has always been unique. Hope your retreat that is coming up soon will be everything you and Gary, Lynn, & Ralph and so many more want it to be. I know God will show up for you, he always does. Love you mom

    • August 8, 2011 11:49 am

      Thanks mom!

    • August 8, 2011 1:08 pm

      Thanks mom! Love you!

Leave a Reply

