Skip to content

True Heroes-Ralph McLelland

July 22, 2011

There are few men in this world who really seek God’s will for their lives with as much passion as my friend and brother, Ralph McLelland. I recently conducted a new retreat format called “Receive” that I have been developing for Eyes of the Heart. Ralph is a huge part of this event. Without his willingness to allow me to love him it would have failed! I love this man! He shared something from his journal with me about his walk with God during our week together. I hope you enjoy it, because I know in my life it works the same way!

Ralph McLelland’s Journal

I don’t really consider myself much of a writer. My wonderful wife, the English teacher, reminds me of that fact on a regular basis. But every once in a while God speaks to me, He speaks into my Heart with words that have  deep meaning. Most of the time I have to just sit in His creation and be still and listen for His voice. Things of the past bubble to the surface. Words come into my heart that offer a sense of healing that can only come from God, and it always comes at the right time.

Recently while in Colorado, one of my favorite places, God offered a few words of healing. This took place on the morning we were to leave from Sky Corral. I had been on a mission trip with our Men’s Adventure Group. We did construction work during the day and we were led by Mike McDade of Eyes of the Heart Ministries at night. This was a retreat setting  on the topic of “How to Receive”, a subject I have struggled with all my life. You see, I have always been the one to give and have never really taken care of Ralph. My pride would not let me ask for help. By asking for help, in my mind, it was a sign of weakness not strength. As I walk with Christ and others I realize more each day that asking for and receiving help is a sign of strength not weakness. To gain a full understanding of God’s LOVE for us we have to learn to receive not only from God but from others.  An understanding of healing takes place when we grasp this concept.    

I would like to offer you these words hoping that you too will also receive just a little bit of healing. 

The Morning we Leave Sky Corral /  June 9, 2011   

Thanks God for the rain, it washes and cleanses the soul. I need that right now as I am struggling with a lot. The sun is coming up over the mountains and two ducks swim across the pond reminding me that you God are always with me. The ripples on the still water remind me of the effect that my life can have on others. I can’t see the mountains this morning because of the clouds but I know they are there. I feel your closeness God. This gives me the feeling that you know what lies ahead but you show me only what I need to see. The feeling of trust comes over me.  

It’s been a great week God. Hearts have been healed, things shared, acceptance from others experienced and understood even with all of our faults.

The clouds clear a little letting me see the mountains and then cover back over. Reminding me again that You will reveal to me little by little what it is I am to do for you God. Some days cloudy with no understanding – others bright and sunny and then a mix in-between on other days.

Job 36: 1-15

It’s been great to serve you this week God, but more importantly to see you work in the lives of others. There is an issue of trust with some that I struggle with but that will all work out I am sure.

Galatians 6: 1-2

Proverbs 11: 13

I can’t see the peak again but I know it’s there. Give me clarity God. I will wait for you to reveal yourself totally to me. That might only come at death, I don’t know. Allow me to continue to trust you and draw others closer to you. 

The clouds are low now, heavy and thick. I feel my past when I was not walking with You. I see the middle of the mountains, knowing where I am now. But my future, an understanding of all that I am to do for You, the top of the mountain again hidden and not revealed. The feeling of trust comes over me again.

With that I will close. Thanks God for a great week. Thank you for the others that walk with me, you know who you are.

 I love you Father.   

Ralph

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2011 9:00 am

    Mike, Thanks for sharing this piece from our brother Ralph. After reading it and wiping away the tears……all I can say is WOW!!! GOD was with him on that mountain side and we are truly blessed to be able to listen in on their conversation.

    • July 22, 2011 10:13 am

      Thanks Jack! It hit me the same way.

  2. Greg G permalink
    July 22, 2011 9:49 am

    Beautiful! I’m blessed by watching you walk with God.

  3. Roane Hunter permalink
    July 22, 2011 12:42 pm

    Mike, thanks bro for sharing a piece of Ralph’s great heart….moments of clarity – sensing God’s presence – listening, seeing, hearing Truth – being with God and others – experiencing Heaven here and now….I am so thankful I get to experience God regularly through my beloved brother Ralph – awesome!

    • July 22, 2011 2:26 pm

      He inspires me too Roane!

Leave a Reply

