Skip to content

Sneaky God

July 13, 2011

Sometimes I hate it when God sneaks up on me. It can sometimes be kind of embarrassing. This morning has been one of those mornings for me. I woke up at 5:00 a.m. this morning, which is 4:00 a.m. for me usually, because I have been staying with my mom for the last ten days. I couldn’t get a file I needed to download through the internet at Rosie’s, so I packed up at 6:30 a.m. to head to Chick-Fil-A. If you know me well you know that I love chicken, but I love a chicken biscuit from Chick-Fil-A like a fat kid loves cake.

I walked in to the restaurant and I was greeted by two familiar faces that remembered me when I lived here. I sat at my normal table and begin to set up my laptop. Then somewhere from my deep subconscious, for my scientific friends, a voice asked, “What is missing?”

I immediately realized that I was sitting at the same table that for three years was the perch that Michael and I sat at every Wednesday mornings at 6:30 a.m. We would talk about life and other things, but for one hour a week I was his friend, his confidant not just his father. The tears are rolling down my face now as I reflect on how much I cherished those times.  I love my sons, Davis and Michael, but the seasons of life are changing and Michael is 18 years old now. We will probably never have the consistency of routine we had during that time from 12 to 15 at Chick-Fil-A, but our lives will forever be changed by it.

One of the greatest loves on the planet is the love of a child. If a child is nurtured, adored and built up with humility they can actually become a healing agent for our own heart and others they come in contact with. But we teach them to be tough to trust no one. Really? Is this the message of Jesus for parenting? Now I understand why Jesus was always so adamant about not harming the hearts of children. He knew that if they were loved enough they could become agents of change for the hearts of others and for us as their parents.

How do you treat your children’s hearts?

This one is for you Davis and Michael for being healing agents for my heart.  I am proud to be your father!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kimberlye Hill permalink
    July 13, 2011 6:01 am

    Beautiful Mike! You are such a blessing!

    • July 13, 2011 6:24 am

      Thanks Kim! My heart needs those words this morning.

      • Kimberlye Hill permalink
        July 13, 2011 8:59 am

        Just as my heart needed your words my friend.

  2. July 14, 2011 12:42 pm

    So Important, and such a great message! Thank you ! ;D

    • July 21, 2011 7:21 pm

      Thanks Adrienne, just got back from Yellowstone with my boys. Love them more every day. Thanks for reading my stuff!

Leave a Reply

