Skip to content

WHERE IS MY BOOK?

June 29, 2011

I wanted to write a blog today about sex, but I can’t because someone didn’t return my book, A Celebration of Sex by Dr. Douglas Rosenau. That really ticks me off! I wanted to talk about the joys of sex today, but instead you will have to listen to me rant.

I give away and lend a lot of books each year. I bet I give somewhere between a 100 and 500 books away each year. I have done it for years now. I so bad want people to experience the freedom in Christ I have experienced over the years just from reading a couple of books that helped me unpack my story. Those days are over! I realized this morning that I am trying to save everybody. Now here I sit this morning wanting to write something that has been on my mind and I can’t. Is anybody going to save me?

Sometimes we must take care of ourselves and stay focused on our mission in this world. There is so much in this world that is not getting done because we focus on the wrong things. You think I am stretching it a little? WWJD?

In Mark Ch. 1 Jesus has spent the night healing the sick and demon-possessed. He got up early the next morning to find a place of solitude to pray and meditate. He needed some alone time with his Father. Peter and a group of men came looking for him, and he said to Jesus, “everyone is looking for you!” Jesus’ response seems eerily selfish and callous, “Let us go somewhere else – to the nearby villages – so I can preach there also. That is why I have come.” He took care of himself!

What do you do with that? People were counting on him?

Jesus knew his limits, and his purpose.

Christianity really has gotten to the point that all we are really trying to do is get people saved, and in the door. Is that the real message of Christ? We want you saved, so you can go out and preach the good news to others and they can be saved and do the same things until we get everyone. Then Jesus comes back! Break out the abacus because we must be getting close. Really?

What happened to Healed? Restored? Ransomed? Redeemed? Glorified? Brotherhood? Community?

So, if you have borrowed a book from me, or you have one in your collection that says Eyes of the Heart on it, JMM, or Mike McDade return it and buy your own.  Take responsibility for your own life with God. My purpose is not to supply the world with books. 

My address is:

Eyes of the Heart Ministries

2519 S. Shields Street #137

Fort Collins, CO 80526

 Ranting from a man moving deeper into his purpose!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. JCY permalink
    June 29, 2011 10:46 am

    Amen Mike!!!! Boundaries are healthy and serve to protect. If it was modeled by Jesus, it should be done by us. Toward Freedom Brother keeping our eyes on the Prize!

    • June 29, 2011 11:39 am

      Thanks Man! In the beginning I thought boundaries and discipline were a part of bondage, but age, maturity and mistakes have taught me otherwise.

  2. June 29, 2011 11:34 am

    Gee, Mac, you never gave me a book! And you know what? I’m going to test you soon and see if you’ll relent! Thanks for the reminder, man. I will not lie; my day has been filled with smiles and blessings.
    I may not see it all, but I know what I see.

    • June 29, 2011 11:40 am

      Just send me your address Coop! I have a bunch I need to unload. $3.00 a piece. Ha Ha. Love you brother! Keep up the good work!

  3. Chuck permalink
    June 29, 2011 3:01 pm

    Two playboys and a husler dated 1982 that I thought you gave me….anyway burned them a while back… so do you want the sticker price?

    • June 29, 2011 3:32 pm

      Unfortunatley Chuck that’s probably true. Glad you had a burning ceremony! Love you brother!

  4. Chuck permalink
    June 30, 2011 6:23 am

    Just wanted to let you know it will get better

  5. June 30, 2011 7:27 am

    Hey Mike, as men we sometimes have to step into things that are uncomfortable and speak to reality. “Nice” does not always matter. Keep speaking the truth brother. WWJD?….He spoke the truth when he walked into the temple, with a whip in his hand. Thanks for sharing through the comfortable days and the tough days. Love you brother. Stay in the fight!

    • June 30, 2011 8:05 am

      Thanks Jack! Jesus was not always a nice guy was He? People need to wake up to that fact, because WWJD sometimes meant he may kick your %$#.

  6. Michael Kueckelhan permalink
    June 30, 2011 8:43 pm

    Hey Mike,
    Bro you might want to refer to your blog on June 14th. As of the day of this blog your 29 days in…could have something to do with the frustration, Ha, Ha, Ha. Seriously though, I think Jesus simply did what he stated in the word. Paraphrased it goes something like, ” I can only do what I see my father in heaven doing.” Jesus was lead by the Spirit and he knew and constantly walked in the will of his father. His prayer and alone time solidified this. So…there are many good things he COULD have done but he chose the RIGHT thing at the RIGHT time. Many times we go to church, become a member, take the 101 course and then get yoked to the “Mule train” of service but we need to be called, not driven, living from our true heart and healthy enough to know the difference. Thanks for your input into my life. You’ve helped me see a lot. P.S I don’t have any books to return but you DO have my Wild at Heart DVD.s. Let’s get together. Love you Bro. Kook.

    • July 1, 2011 3:48 pm

      Oh no! I knew someone who get me here. Kook, I am gone to MS for a couple of weeks brother. We will get together when I get back. I am ready for Monday night to kick back up. I miss out time together. Love you brother!

  7. Jorge Liceaga permalink
    July 1, 2011 7:32 am

    You too huh Mike? I’ve been doing the same thing, thinking that recommending reading a book that changed my life would also change someone else’s life in the same way it changed mine. I love it!!…”take responsibility for your own life.” Now that is Godly and truthful advice. I want all my books back too…chances are that they hadn’t been read anyway! BTW, I am still waiting for YOUR book! Don’t worry, I won’t ask to borrow it. I’ll buy my own copy for ME.

  8. July 1, 2011 3:50 pm

    Thanks Jorge! I am working pretty hard on it right now. I hope to be finished in six months. It just never seems good enough. Wound crap talking I know. Hope I see you over the next two weeks while I am in Mississippi.

  9. Kimberlye Hill permalink
    July 13, 2011 8:56 am

    You are so right Mike! I too have given away books hoping someone else would benefit, only to find out the person I gave it to did not even bother to read it! Some people seem so desperate for help,yet, when given the chance to recieve help, they refuse it. Often, it seems this is especially true if something was required of them…such as reading a book! I agree with you, I want people to experience the beauty of having a RELATIONSHIP with Jesus, not just get a ticket into heaven and live a life full of strife! I too am working on the “take responsibility for your own life” issue. It is certainly true that you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink. This morning I heard someone say “The only man who is not thirsty is dead”. I praise God for the never ending thirst I have for His Word and His Ways!! It is only through that thirst and His Word that quenches it, that I live…finally TRUELY live! And, I might add, actually enjoy most of the journey!

Leave a Reply

