Skip to content

True Heroes-Gary Barkalow

June 3, 2011

Have you ever sat down and took the time to think about all of the people who have impacted your life.  A good friend of mine says people enter your life for a reason, a season or a life time.  In looking back, there are people who abuse you, people who love you, people who hate you, people who take advantage of you, people who coach you, but then there are people who help pull out who you are deep inside and they teach you how to let your light shine in this world. Gary Barkalow has been one of those people for me. Gary has listened to my sorrows, helped me understand their purpose, unearthed the nuggets of gold in my life, and convinced me that my gift of encouragement is something of extreme value. I love my life now more than I ever have. When many men have chosen to see me as a threat; he has seen me as an ally. You see we all need encouragement! I have also seen him do this for many other men I know.

This blog is not long; nor overly sappy, it’s just a heart filled expression of thanks for seeing something in me that at many times I couldn’t see myself. Thanks Gary; in my eyes you are a true hero. Keep teaching others to step into the glory of their life! You and your message are needed!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Expeditions permalink
    June 3, 2011 6:30 am

    Gary sees great value in you Mike, and your friendship has meant as much to him as his to you. Thats part of Gary’s glory, he is able to see past all your wounds and then he calls you out for who you really are! The affirmation is powerful because of the noble life this man has led.

    Jeff

    • June 3, 2011 6:35 am

      Thanks Jeff! Coming from you that means the world for my heart. He really is a good friend!

Leave a Reply

