Skip to content

Success or Failure

May 9, 2011

I feel like I have to respond with some deeper thoughts clarifying something I said in my last blog. I talked about how some of my friends tell me I fear failure, while others tell me I fear success. I have tasted both success and failure in my life, and what I have recognized is that they taste the same unless they are grounded in your calling; your true identity from God. The taste is meaningless, empty and void of real value in life. They are both fleeting memories at best. 

I will never forget after the Chicago Bulls won their fourth championship upon Michael Jordan’s return from baseball. Michael’s father had been murdered in North Carolina a few years before, but you never saw a chink   in his armor until the final bell of the final game against Seattle. Michael lay on the floor longing for the love and embrace of his father. With all of his success; it meant nothing without the love of his father. The taste was not as sweet without him. Our lives are the same way.

How much more does our heavenly father long for us to step past what the world dictates as success or failure, because with God they both are sweet knowing that we are walking in who He sees us as. Failures become nothing more than learning tools. Success in this realm is even sweeter, because we know we are heard, seen and accepted for who we really are! Our lives are affirmed with His love.

If you want to experience the real taste of life step into who God says you are at your core! I love you Father; thanks for showing me you’re guiding, loving hand in my life!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg G permalink
    May 9, 2011 3:24 pm

    Bro, this is one of your best! Just forwarded to my son, who is considering different job options, trying to figure out the first step of his post-college journey. Great advice for all of us to keep on a sticky-note on our mirror…

    • May 9, 2011 4:21 pm

      Thanks Greg. Coming from a man who offers life as much as you do this touches deep in my core. Thanks Bro! Love you!

  2. Alyson permalink
    May 9, 2011 5:51 pm

    Mike,
    SO true that God puts no one in our lives by mistake!!
    Nice to meet you on the plane.
    Keep up the important work you are doing!! I feel very ENCOURAGED to follow His will for my life …allowing Him to play the leading role in my story!

    • May 9, 2011 6:04 pm

      Alyson, the pleasure was all mine. I love it when I meet someone who uses the gifts that God has given them to help others heal. You are one of those people! Keep allowing Him to lead!!!! Keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

