Skip to content

Living Free

May 2, 2011

You ever feel like God is honing you; preparing you for something more than you are currently doing? I am in one of those places right now with God. He is forcing me to look under the covers again to check my motives for doing some of the things I am doing. There are a lot of people in the struggle of their life because of the way the economy is going, and more people are ending up in my counseling office than ever before. You see when there is a lack of money the true issues of marriage and life in general begin to rise up in our relationships, and in our everyday life.

The question that God is working on me with is “Why are you here?” I can hear the theological minds working for many of my readers, but that is not what I mean. I am asking this question of every situation that I find myself in.  If I am with a client in my counseling office I ask myself, “why am I here?” Recently, while in a board meeting with a group of men for a non-profit organization, I asked them the question, “why do you want me here?” Even this morning, while drinking coffee with a friend, I found myself asking the question, “why am I here?”

I think I need to clarify a few details to the question, so you can understand. These are the some of the  questions that relate to “Why am I here?”

“Am I here to get something from this person?” Am I here to give something to this person? Am I helping or hurting this person? What is my angle, or do I have one? Do I want this person in my life? Are they safe? Can they be trusted? Have I been honest with them about my motives? Are they friends or acquaintances? Am I wasting my time? Is this really who I am? Should I walk away? Do they accept me for who I am?

Even now as I write this blog, “why am I here doing this?” Do I write for money, fame, or just to be heard, or do I write so I can help people who feel stuck and alone? What are my motives? What is even funnier is sometimes I am not sure myself what my motives are. Sometimes I just feel stuck! Some of my friends say I have a fear of failure, other times they say I have a fear of success, but really I think God is trying to tell me to just offer me in situations. Not what everyone else needs or wants from me, but just who I am.

This won’t always make people happy, but if making others happy is your sole purpose for living; then living my friend you are not!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 2:31 pm

    Mike,

    WOW! This speaks to me…on several levels. I’m in the same place, questioning if what I do for living is really what I am meant for doing…questioning if I’m doing what I do to make others happy, or if it really is my heart. Thank you for being so open.

    I heard this quote the other day and it stuck. It’s so relevant I wanted to share…

    “Better to write for yourself and have no public, then to write for the public and have no self” -unknown

    Clint

    • May 2, 2011 2:38 pm

      Great quote Clint. Writing is one of the places I have found the ability to be pure in my motives. I don’t have a set schedule to blog, or a set topic to blog about except how I see life. I think more people are at this point than are willing to admit it, and they look to others to validate or affirm who they are, when most people don’t have a clue who they are either. The key is to be forever searching for that elusive person, yourself!

    • May 3, 2011 5:30 am

      Clint, The important piece of your response is that you are questioning. Always questioning is a good posture when you are looking for your authentic swing. I am going to steal that quote. It is awesome. Thanks for reading!

  2. May 2, 2011 2:35 pm

    thanks Mike, I needed that one — and will keep coming back to it for the reminder — it brings to mind what a friend recently told me, that we are responsible to people, not for them.

    • May 2, 2011 2:40 pm

      Amen, Richard! We are thinking about doing another Calling Intensive in Atlanta in October. WOuld you help us promote one if we do? I think people understanding their Callin in life is one of thos key components that are missing for so many.

    • May 3, 2011 5:31 am

      That will preach Richard. I need to put that as my motto on the wall in my office. I would be out of a job soon.

  3. Reggie Britt permalink
    May 2, 2011 3:22 pm

    Mike,

    IMO, this speaks to being authentic. I find that fear is one of the biggest obstacles to authenticity. It’s the attitude that says: “Be who you are and let the world feel the effect”. Not in an arrogant sense but in a way that allows your impact to be felt the way God designed you.

    Great post!

    Reggie

    • May 3, 2011 5:28 am

      Thanks Reggie! Love you brother!

  4. May 2, 2011 6:32 pm

    Mike, it’s something how much we think alike. I think about this all the time, sometimes it’s like I’m an alien in a strange world. I look foward to what God has for each of our futures, whose knows, they may be more connected than we now realize.

    • May 3, 2011 5:27 am

      David, I can’t think of anyone I would rather be connected to than you. I love you’re heart, and I hear that the Big Red Oak of Hope is making waves downtown. This was the purpose of Eyes of the Heart from the beginning!

  5. Judson permalink
    May 2, 2011 11:33 pm

    To be honest, I feel more like I am being forged rather than honed.

    To be honed implies that there is a surface there once held desirable, to be reclaimed through some form of abraision. Like honing the cylinders on your car, taking out small imperfections, much like a knife against a steel or stone to be made sharp again.

    The forging process, on the other hand, is being tossed into fire hot enough to vary the molecular structure then beaten with a hammer against an anvil for a while. Afterwards thrown into water or oil to “quench” the heat… and then starting over, eventually taking the desired shape, after enough trips through the process, an edge can be placed upon you… I feel most days it is my first trip into the fire and there is a long road/ journey ahead…

    For me, forged seems more accurate…

    Love ya Brother, thanks for all you do!

  6. May 3, 2011 3:35 am

    Really good post Mike…thanks for putting your heart out there, sort of like an ol’ river bed as the Living Water flows through it bringing life to that ol’ river bed and teeming life to everything that it touches as the Living Water flows!

    • May 3, 2011 5:17 am

      Judson, You are closer to the desired shape than you know. Forging or honing, either one are after the same results. Walking in who God says you are, and wearing the sandals of Christ!

  7. May 3, 2011 4:11 pm

    Good thoughts. Thanks for the thoughts!

  8. May 5, 2011 4:08 pm

    I love this! This is the first time I’ve made my way to your blog…the questioning…
    Do what you love, where your God given talent is…that is what we are to use ;D

    As Aristotle says,
    “Where your talents and the needs of the world cross lies your calling.”

    Namaste!

    • May 10, 2011 6:23 am

      Adrienne, Thank you for the kind words. One of the things I love to do is help a man find his calling. Namaste to you! I love your blog as well! I am going to use that Aristotlle quote in some of my writings. If you can’t tell writing is when I feel the presence of God in my life!

Leave a Reply

