Skip to content

A Life of Desire

March 21, 2011

I spent a wonderful Sunday with my wife and kids, and I was reminded of this blog I wrote quite a while back, but it seems pertinent today to post again. I hope you enjoy it. If you like it pass it on!!

A Life of Desire

It is amazing how many people who enter my counseling office basically have the same problem. Psychology and culture may label their state as being depressed, anxious, OCD, ADHD or narcissism. There are many different hats to try on just pick one.  People are constantly looking to define their problem instead of searching for the root. The problem is people in general don’t really do what they enjoy doing in their life. They blame it on responsibility, lack of time and maturity. The bottom line is this, if you don’t find time to do things that you enjoy doing your body, mind and soul will rebel against you.

One of the techniques that I use to help people disarm these issues is through making a list of things that you truly love.  It can’t be your spouse, parents, children or God because those are givens. You can really interpret the frame of mind of a person by how hard they struggle with this exercise and if they can define why they love something. This exercise becomes a Pandora’s Box for many people that I counsel.

One day while I was spending time in prayer I decided to use my grand technique on Jesus. It was amazing because he answered me.  As He spoke, I asked if it was okay if I shared His answers with others I know. He said, “Sure Mike, if you think it will help.” So here it is Jesus’ list of things that he loves, enjoy!

Things That I Love – J.C.

1.            I love hanging out with my buddies, especially fishing.

2.            I love seeing the Image of God in the worst of humanity.

3.            I love to travel, especially seeing my Father’s creation in full bloom.

4.            I love to exercise my body.

5.            I love a good glass of wine.

6.            I love going to a good party.

7.            I love little children.

8.            I love teaching others the truth.

9.            I appreciate, adore and admire (love) the women in my life.

10.          I love to take time to rest and meditate.

11.          I love building up and encouraging others.

12.          I love confronting those who think they have it figured out.

13.          I love sacrificing myself for others.

14.          I enjoy seeing people healed of their brokenness.

15.          I love the Father more than everything, because I share His Heart!

 After we finished the list, I was amazed how many things that were on his list were on the list of many of the men I know. Maybe there really is something to this being more like Jesus! How does your list compare?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. DeWayne permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:25 am

    This is an awesome reminder that we serve a personal God and a great reason to get out and go fishing!

    • March 21, 2011 7:29 am

      DeWayne, I got a fly rod in the garage for you any time you are ready to come spend some time with me and the Man!

  2. Amy Collins permalink
    March 21, 2011 7:28 am

    Mike,

    This is one of my favorites from your writings. I agreed 100 %.

    I am so proud of the work you are doing.

    Love,

    Amy

    • March 21, 2011 7:30 am

      Post it on your Facebook page Cuz! This one is my favorite as well.

  3. March 21, 2011 11:10 am

    Mike,

    This is one of the most powerful, succinct, sublime piece of spiritual literature I have ever taken in. That list is priceless and best of all, TRUE! I am not trying to blow smoke up your skirt but you must write that book you’ve been desiring to write. I want to buy it. I want to read it. I want to laugh through it. I want to cry through it. I want to pray through it. I want to be inspired by it. I want to teach through it. As far as I can discern, it’s already in you. It just needs to be documented on paper for the benefit of others but especially me since it is all about me right? LOL! You did notice all of the “I’s” in this paragraph. I’m gonna be the first in line at your premier booksigning!

    • March 21, 2011 11:27 am

      Thanks for the flattery Jorge! My writing is always from my heart. I wear my life on my sleeve. Many people are unnerved by my honesty about what I see as the truth, but you can’t deny my passion for learning how to walk the path. If you enjoyed that much send the link in email to all of your friends, and put it on Facebook. More people need to know the living God; not the one we have been told about all of our lives! Love you brother!

Leave a Reply

