Skip to content

Who Are You?

February 28, 2011

I had just finished working with a client when an idea for my website hit me, so I began to look for a specific book containing the information I would need in my bookcase. I quickly found the book I was searching for with the precision  of a jeweler building an expensive  watch. Within a few minutes, I had found the quote I was looking for to make my point. What I discovered about myself as I sat on the arm of my chair amazed me.

I noticed that the books I love: Waking the Dead, Wild at Heart, It’s Your Call, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, Purpose Driven Life, Who Moved My Cheese, Pastoring Men and The Cost of Discipleship etc…., were within arms reach from my chair in my office. I have two wall heigth bookcases in my office  fullof books, but the ones that tell me more about who I am were right in front of me.

My theology and psychology books were on the bottom shelves (my occupation), but the themes I love: men, transitions, calling and purpose were the ones staring back at me. I left my office on a mission at lunch to see if my DVD shelf at home might be the same way. Go figure: Gladiator, Braveheart, Bagger Vance, Seabiscuit, The Matrix, The Kid, Life as a House and The Matrix. It was the same pattern – men, transitions and purpose.

It feels good to recognize you are doing what God called you to do, but the best feeling of all were the three books on my desk: my new Message Bible, my beat up NIV Study Bible and my NASB Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible. You see a calling without God is just a job or a hobby.

I challenge you to look at the books and movies in your shelves. What are the themes that touch your life. They may be a better picture of who you really are than you can imagine.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Jack Harrington permalink
    February 28, 2011 7:53 am

    That’s awesome Mike. Great insight. I’m going to do the same thing and see what turns up, but I already have a pretty good idea. 😉

    Blessings, Jack

  2. Expeditions permalink
    February 28, 2011 8:15 am

    Your life, my friend is a good book that is being written right now. Your recent move out West is inspiring and your love for your family is a chapter we all need to read.

    I look forward to sitting down and watching Life is a House with you some day.

    Jeff

    • February 28, 2011 1:44 pm

      Thanks man, coming from you that takes on a whole new meaning. I needed it today Jeff!

  3. February 28, 2011 10:18 am

    Looks like you found a new “picture” exercise! Gotta go run and look at my shelves 🙂

    • February 28, 2011 1:38 pm

      It is an amazing thing to see yourself in a deeper way everyday. Love you bro!

  4. Rosie McDade permalink
    February 28, 2011 10:31 am

    I don’t know what you are driving at, whether or not you are doing what you feel like God’s calling you to do or not, but to see and share the excitement you feel and show upon return from a mens retreat, I don’t know how you could have any doubts…as Rick Warren wrote in one of his books I have read, I think it was his dad who would say “Just one more” and that is definitely how I see it is for you on your retreats, if just one guy sees and feels worthy of Gods’ love and gets what your retreats are about, you feel GREAT….and you know your retreat was a success… I love you Mom….

    • February 28, 2011 1:43 pm

      I could not have said it any better mom. We have been taught for way to long by the institution of religion that we have to have it all together to be loved by God. Those places cannot heal without first being loved by God and others! Wake up people why can’t we get this message to spread in the church!

      Because we have bought into the notion that we are not worthy of God’s love. That is second guessing God’s decisions, and you are playing with serious fire in my book!

  5. Shannon Cooke permalink
    February 28, 2011 3:04 pm

    I know mine ate as well. Those currently being read on the table by my reading chair or the night stand, and time honored and proven works cloistered in one section of my study which is easily visible from my desk. Mine are organized by author, classic for a type A personality. But like you, with in an arms reach. Along with the Message and the ESV and NIV study Bibles I read. Military history also gas a prominent Place in my library. And this has something to do with MY calling. Not sure exactly how but it is a strong thread in the fabric of my life.
    Thanks Mike,
    Shannon

  6. Ashley permalink
    February 28, 2011 11:11 pm

    There are only a few videos that come to mind. The first is Arthur. I expect you can imagine why I relate to him, but one thing you may not know is that I, just as he, turn every situation (good or bad) into a laughing matter. And, I want that happy ending. The second is “The Wizard of Oz”. I can identify personally with every major chacter in such a personal way that it almost scares me. The third is “Gone with the Wind”. I suppose it’s because I’m searching for the hope and love that enveloped this saga. The tragedy only depicts my life as I know it, only in a different manner. The fourth is “The Sound of Music”. It, too has to do with hope and love, but it also reaches out to one’s inner beliefs, and their true human commitment to the freedoms I believe God bore us.

    Thanks for your personal out-look, and your never-ending love to all of us! Wishing you well! Ash

    • March 1, 2011 3:10 am

      Wow Ashley, thanks for the kind words. I think everyone can relate to all of these movies at some point in their lives. Your story will continue to unfold; step in. Stepping deeper into God’s love is a choice, because true love without choice is control. Thanks for loving me back!

  7. Kimberlye Curtis Hill permalink
    March 1, 2011 12:13 pm

    Awesome Mike! My books on my desk are “The Everyday Bible”, “Light for My Path”,”Promises From God for Women”,”Power Thoughts” and “Battlefield of the mind” by Joyce Meyer and “Fasting”by Jentezen Franklin. My dvd’s are all 6 seasons of “Reba”,”Hope Floats”,”Fried Green Tomatoes”,”Nanny McPhee”,”Sling Blade” and a variety of children’s videos. It is more than obvious that I am hungry for the Word, dilegently seeking the face of Jesus,and doing my best KNOWING that God will do the rest. It does feel soooooooooo good to rest in His peace. I’m not sure what the dvd’s driving theme might be! But it gives me something to think about! I love seeing through the eyes of your heart…thank you for sharing that God given beauty with us!

    God Bless,
    Kim

    • March 1, 2011 12:32 pm

      So glad we are walking together. Love you girl!

  8. Susan Trussell permalink
    March 1, 2011 7:13 pm

    I’m looking …very interesting. Love you and thanks for letting God use you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

