Skip to content

Writer’s Block

February 23, 2011

I could tell you that my relationship with God is always good, but that would be a lie. I was invited to meet some friends this past weekend at a cabin in the mountains. I really was not in a place to go; honestly, I didn’t want to go at all. I was mad at God because I was experiencing the worst case of writer’s block I have had since I decided to start writing my blog. Also, my finances aren’t in the best of places either. In general, I was pissed and I really didn’t feel like spending time with God. What a way to treat your creator, huh?

Now I am sure that some of you are wondering do I really want to continue to read this “woe is me” story. I get it, but stay with me.

I decided to get up early and walk through the Aspen trees Saturday morning. It still amazes me how beautiful the mountains are in the morning when the sun slowly creeps over the peaks. The radiance of the orange streamers reminded me of the light of a lighthouse, but with the shining light the color of fire. The mist from my breath reminds me how cold it is without a cloud in the sky. I sat underneath an Aspen tree and begin to pour out my thoughts.

Now, I am not going to share with you what I am wrote in my journals, that is between me and my Father, but I am going to share what He said to me. God said, “Mike, your writing is how I talk to you, you are my voice.” Even as I type this blog I can’t hold back the tears. God has been patiently waiting for me just to sit down and write, not wait to be inspired to write. This is our time together. Thanks for being patient with this Christian man who hopefully will never stop growing in your love.

I loved our time together this morning Father.

Your son,

 Mike

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 12:14 pm

    Mike, sometimes it seems that when I feel the “worst” or most resistant to seeking out God or trying to hear from him that it’s probably the time I should. I woke up at 1:30am this morning. I could have had uninterrupted time, but I chose not to go to God. Interestingly, a young man emailed me this morning about us getting together for some life coaching and he starts out with “well, I’m up at 1:45am and I can’t sleep, so I’ve been praying and I want to write you.” Maybe I could have been doing the same thing, so it was my loss. Glad you went to the mountains! Glad you don’t give up on staying close to the Father!

Leave a Reply

