Skip to content

Measuring Up

February 1, 2011

Does anybody else ever get tired of the constant judgment we are all under? Are you rich enough yet? Are you healthy enough yet? Are your kids perfect? How’s your relationship with your wife? Do you have the perfect job? How are the Jones’ doing? What kind of car do you drive? How do you look in that bikini? How’s your 401K performing?

Just writing the questions above has reduced my mood to melancholy at best. We strive so hard to look perfect from the outside while we are dying on the inside. How many people really trust you when you ask them “how are you doing?”, or better yet do you even care? We have become a nation that has swallowed isolation hook, line and sinker. Most people are pessimistic, narcissistic, paranoid, isolated and depressed. We would much rather chat on Facebook than talk on the phone, or better yet, meet someone for coffee. Our lives are so stretched. We are so distracted reaching for empty dreams that we miss the true joys of life.

I am glad Jesus measures my success differently:

“You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule.”

 “You’re blessed when you’ve lost what is most dear to you. Only then can you be embraced by the One most dear to you.”

 “You’re blessed when you’re content with just who you are – no more, no less. That’s the moment you find yourselves proud owners of everything that can’t be bought.”

“You’re blessed when you’ve worked up a good appetite for God. He’s food and drink in the best meal you’ll ever eat.”

“You’re blessed when you care. At the moment of being ‘care-full,’ you find yourself cared for.

 “You’re blessed when you get your inside world – your mind and heart – put right. Then you can see God in the outside world.”

 “You’re blessed when you can show people how to cooperate instead of compete or fight. That’s when you discover who you really are, and your place in God’s family.”

 “You’re blessed when your commitment to God provokes persecution. The persecution drives you deeper into God’s kingdom.”

 If you want to experience true joy today (not what society says): call an old friend that you haven’t talked to in a while, show up at your wife’s office and take her to lunch for no reason, pick your child up at school early and take him/her to get an ice cream cone, or better yet spend time with the One who loves you most.

 Then you will be blessed!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Expeditions permalink
    February 1, 2011 10:42 am

    This is such a good post because I think we totally underestimate the power our culture puts on us to be perfect in every area. I think this one of the most overlooked things in our lives but it can have so much control over us and stress us beyond measure and have us reaching for the Tums in the medicine chest in no time. The inner life suffers when we worry or preform to the standards of culture or worse the moral codes of religion.

    Jesus so often picked a fight with the religious system to let them know that he did not live by their standards but rather Jesus lived by the Fathers life in Him. So Jesus would often heal on the Sabbath just to let them know He did not play by their rules.

    Some times you look like a heretic when you live by this life in us. This life in us is oriented to heaven and not Wall Street.

    Thanks Mike

    Jeff

    • February 1, 2011 3:16 pm

      Thanks Jeff! I think this blog came from serious reflection in my own life yesterday as well as spending time reading “The Message” this morning. Why it is so important to measure up seemed to have creeped into my psyche. The simple things are the true joys of life!

  2. Page permalink
    February 1, 2011 11:45 am

    Thanks for reminding me that I am blessed.

    • February 1, 2011 3:16 pm

      I have know it about you a long time! You are blessed!

  3. Ralph permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:07 pm

    We so often let the world define who we are and do not look to God and I am not able to receive His Grace. Thanks for helping me open my eyes a little bit more while gaining an understanding of who God sees me to be and how He wants me to bring others along. See ya Thursday bro.

    • February 1, 2011 3:18 pm

      I am ready for “Deer Camp”! I hope I make it in okay Thursday! Looking forward to being in Mississippi with you and the gang!

  4. Greg G permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:12 pm

    You hit the right chord for me today. Just got off the phone calling a friend I had intended to call the past several weeks. Kept me from thinking of how I looked in a bikini….

    • February 1, 2011 3:19 pm

      Greg you are one of the few people I know that could pull it off. Love you brother! Can’t wait to see you Thursday.

  5. Roane permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:34 pm

    Great timing Mike….I was feeling it this morning as well….measure up, perform, succeed, etc….thanks for reminding me that we are flying upside down through this broken world….love you bro!

    • February 1, 2011 3:20 pm

      I was feeling it to Roane yesterday. I am not good enough, or smart enough, and I need to get with the program. Screw the program! God loves my broken butt just the way I am now. We will mature together with him holding my hand when I am ready.

  6. February 23, 2011 10:58 am

    Mike,

    Been awhile… I just ran through some of your old posts and I love this one. I have been thinking about the idea of measuring up.

    I’m working on throwing away the tape measure, and picking up the compass. Following my Guide rather than climbing a ladder.

Leave a Reply

