Skip to content

The Power of being KNOWN

January 12, 2011

Today was a new beginning for me with something that has been lost. My son (Michael) and I rekindled our ritual of eating at Chick-Fil-A today together. For over three years it was one of the highlights of my week; just sitting with Michael for an hour each week with no agenda just being friends. I love my oldest and he is an amazing man! However, what surprised me about this morning actually happened later as I was looking for something in my office. I found my journal with my thoughts from the day we first started this adventure together. God asked me to share with all of you. I guess I better; He is really working on me now.

Tuesday, August 16, 2006-Michael & Breakfast –Journal Entry

Today was the first day of what I hope will become one of the most consistent pieces of my life; Michael and I ate breakfast alone today at 6:30 a.m. Satan was there early to distract me from my purpose, because I had made the decision this was one of the most important things I would do in my life. Michael had misplaced his new notebook and it became easy for me to judge, alienate and maybe cancel the whole thing, but I was able to see through his charade.

Michael was nervous and fidgety as we talked, and he could barely hold eye contact with me as he talked about asking Margaret Hardy out. We practiced what he would say to her. I have to admit I was anxious myself. I realized that a thirteen year old boy that I really barely knew was sitting across from me. A rush of shame came over me! Am I really that bad of a dad, or have busyness and my own agenda taken me from my most precious mission on earth – being a DAD! I was both excited and in pain. I knew that Michael would soon be a man, and that I could either show him the way, or let him try his best to survive (On your own). I pray God that you will grant me persistence, consistency and patience over the next five years as I do my best to show him the way. What was amazing was he actually asked how I was doing with losing my friend Joe Bradford. He was already showing how great of a man he will be.

What started as anxious energy for both of us became a relaxed environment to learn and grow together. What I realized was Michael is someone I want to know; not just as a father and son, but as a friend and brother in Christ. I look forward to the next few years sitting together and I hope Margaret says yes. I love you son! I saw a mountain today in your eyes I have to move. God help me!

We haven’t eaten together since we moved to Colorado (a year lost), but we committed to each other this morning this time was sacred and we both needed it. Take the time to get to know your children as individuals, not just as your kids. I love you son, and I am proud of the man you are and are becoming. Free spicy chicken biscuits made it even better!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Ramona Savage Martin permalink
    January 12, 2011 1:53 pm

    Mike it is awesome to be friends with your child and I think it has it’s own importance. I still tell mine who are 27, 23 and 22 that they nor I came with an instruction book but that as we write each chapter of our lives if we stay united, open and honest learning to communicate there is no mountain too high! God bless you friend!

    • January 12, 2011 2:50 pm

      Thanks Ramona. I love how open and honest my relationship is with my son. He tells me things sometimes I wish I didn’t know, but I am reminded daily that he is leaps and bounds ahead of my pace and God has given me the Grace to live my life and make some huge mistakes. Honesty and Trust are the key!

  2. January 12, 2011 2:17 pm

    Thank you for bringing me into your journal, family and heart. This was good for me to hear.

    • January 12, 2011 2:51 pm

      Thanks Gary! Thanks for being one of the guys that helps me in this crazy journey called life. Love you brother!

  3. Rosie McDade permalink
    January 12, 2011 6:34 pm

    Awesome Mike for you and Michael to rekindle that meeting together, I can remember you sharing that excitement with me that you had Michael had those weekly breakfast together. It is so easy to let life’s situations take over but you and I both know that we have always been able to just sit and talk and visit with each other and its wonderful for any relationship to always just be able to sit and talk and “share”. I love you bunches and can’t wait for Feb 3rd….when we can sit, visit, laugh and share…But anyway I need to close and I love you and your family dearly and miss you more….Mom

  4. Chuck Jennings permalink
    January 13, 2011 8:06 am

    Yea, we can walk through life every day and not see the miracles God has put in front of us. I ask myself all the time how a sinner like me can be so blessed with the family that God has given me to raise, (two girls and now a son), and then through tears and prayer I am reminded that I have a loving and forgiving God.

Leave a Reply

