Skip to content

Mustard Seed Faith

November 11, 2010

Over the last few years I have started reading the Bible in a new context. I have been taught that the Bible is a collection of books about God. Well Duh Huh! The new context I am reading from now is that the Bible is a collection of stories about how God works in people’s lives. The frame is basically this:

1. Ordinary person chooses to either follow God or not follow God.
2. There are trials and tribulations for both types, but a person’s Faith in God either shines through and they become extraordinary, or they lose faith and remain broken.
3. The key component seems to be our Faith.

Now the institution will tell you this way of thinking puts way too much power in the hands of men, but I would contest that our lives are what shows the power of God at work. God uses men (Moses, David, Daniel, and last, but not least, Jesus Christ) to accomplish his Master plan. All of these men are listed in Hebrews in what we call the Hall of Faith.

Another point about Faith comes from the numerous occasions when Jesus heals someone. Immediately after He heals them He says, “Your faith has healed you” (Matthew 9:22, Matthew 9:29, Mark 9:23, Mark 10:52). There is power in your Faith. Faith is active, flowing, moving forward into what God has called you to do. Faith is not something you posses; it is something that posses’ you. Paul says, “I am compelled to preach the Gospel”, his Faith is now his life.

Many of you reading this blog are already discounting what God can do in and with your life. I have heard all of the excuses; here are a few:

Excuse: I have been married and divorced three times. How can God use me?
Story: The woman at the well (She is in the Bible).

Excuse: The sins in my past are too great.
Story: Have you murdered anyone? These guys did, Moses and David.

Excuse: I am just an ordinary man.
Story: Peter and John – Just fishermen.

The importance of their Faith is what we as men and women must see in these stories. We can have that same type of healing, fearless, extraordinary Faith if we will just step out of our comfort zones. The key piece of Faith is taking the first step toward the love of God. Allow your Faith in God to tell the story of your life. You are worth it!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg G permalink
    November 11, 2010 4:15 pm

    True, that!

  2. Jorge Liceaga permalink
    November 11, 2010 9:32 pm

    Your blog here came at just the right time! I’m in a major battle in my person and in my family. We are going through serious trauma and I’m so glad to have read this. It really blessed me. Thank you!!!

  3. Ashley permalink
    November 12, 2010 6:28 am

    Couldn’t have come at a better time! That really spoke to me! Thanks!

  4. Lynn Ryan permalink
    November 12, 2010 10:08 am

    Thanks for bringing me to the basics.

    Love you Bro!

  5. Scott Rodgers permalink
    November 15, 2010 9:40 am

    You weren’t thinking about me when you were mentioning being divorced 3 times were you, way to let God speak through you just when I needed it most! Stay faithful my brother, God is truly using you, thanks.

Leave a Reply

