Skip to content

I Want to LIVE!

September 25, 2010

Most people enjoy complaining about their lives, but they really don’t have the courage to step forward and change how they are living. They want to blame the government for the mess they are in, or better yet blame their parents, bosses, companies, spouses or kids for their financial dilemma and their addictions. They can’t get pass the pain, so most people just enjoy bitching; yes I said bitching, instead of actually doing something to change. No one wants to own their life.

If you want to uncover some of these people in your life read your friend’s posts on their Facebook page; there true internal state shines through in most of their posts. I really don’t enjoy being around people like that in my free time; most of the time they’re just waiting for the hammer to drop, so they can blame someone for their lives. Most people have no idea who they are at their core, and frankly live a miserable existence.

However, I love helping people get out of this cage when they step forward for help; the prison made of invisible concrete walls 20 feet high that constantly surrounds them, telling them this is all there is, because I have discovered what the concrete is made of, fear. Most of us fear who we could be, because that would mean that what we have believed about ourselves our entire lives is not true. Inside all of us is an artist waiting to be presented to the world.

So how do we begin the process of uncovering the artist? The answer is in knowing yourself well. We must learn to trust ourselves and others with our lives; we must be willing to ask the tough questions of the people who care most about us, and listen to their answers. Here are a few questions to ask:

What is it like to live with me?

What do you see me doing well?

When do you see me at my best/worst?

When do you see fear in my eyes?

What do I look like when I am angry/hurt?

Who am I to you?

If you don’t have the confidence to ask these questions of the people around you, or if fear immediately set into your heart after reading this, then you have to ask yourself this question, “Am I content with existence, or do I want to live?”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeff Andrechyn permalink
    September 25, 2010 9:57 am

    Mike

    Of all my friends who write or blog, I would say you are our conscious. You articulate what we are thinking. I will take your questions to my friends and thanks for reminding to take steps to what I can offer the world rather than moaning about whats wrong.

    Jeff

    • September 25, 2010 10:22 am

      Jeff,

      Those may be the kindest words I have heard in a while. I long to offer the truth about our lives as best I can. I know in my own life that taking huge risks have grave consequences, but they also have unbelievable reward, whether it is through failure or success. Love you brother! Can’t wait to see you next week.

  2. Jack permalink
    September 26, 2010 6:22 pm

    Mike,
    Really good stuff. Wow. Not sure I want to know the anwers to some (or all) of those questions, but I really need to know. Thanks for telling it like it is. The following is a quote I read years ago by Oliver Wendell Holmes that really stuck with me:

    “Most people go to the grave with their music still inside them.”

    My prayer since that time has been, “Lord, please release the music inside me.”

    Bless you bro. Looking forward to this weekend!
    Jack

Leave a Reply

