Skip to content

Mt. Everest-My Last Demon

August 20, 2010

Today is the day that I confess to all of you my last hurdle to being who God intended me to be. Even as I begin to write I feel anxiety throughout my body, because my last hurdle is my Mt. Everest. It is something that has controlled my life for over 30 years now, and if I don’t change it I am going to die. I have beat alcohol and drug addiction without help, but this one I can’t win alone. It is blanketed in shame, guilt and pain. My problem is my weight. I have struggled with my weight all of my adult life, and yesterday when I got on the scale I weighed 276 lbs. This is the heaviest I have ever been, and I feel the depression associated with it throughout my body. I need help!

I am tired of being winded when I ride bikes or play basketball with Davis. I am tired of not running with Michael or going to work-out with him. I am tired of the disappointment on their faces when I constantly say no to their wishes because of my physical condition, and I see the wounds my disease is causing in their hearts. I want to go swimming with my family and not be ashamed to take off my shirt. I can’t do this alone, and I am tired.

My wife has asked me to do it for myself over a hundred times, and for a while I would lose weight, only to gain it back and more. For whatever reason I can’t do it for myself. I have to have a purpose, so I am asking you to help me climb Mt. Everest.

Everyone who is close to my ministry knows I have a love deep in my soul for Sky Corral Ranch (Kelly & Rani Wheat). They have a wonderful ministry ministering to families, and I volunteer their every chance I get. They are now in this process of beginning to raise funds to build cabins, and I want to be the first one to build one for them. The cost for one of these cabins is $30,000.00 not including labor. The Men’s Adventure group from Ridgecrest has committed to providing some of the labor, and I am developing a team here in Colorado to help build their first cabin.

This is where you can help. Eyes of the Heart is a 501 C-3 non-profit organization and could facilitate tax deductible donations for this project. The project will be called the Barnabas Project. If you fill led I would like for you to commit $1.00, $2.00 or $5.00 (or whatever you fill led to give) a pound for every pound I lose before June 1, 2011 beginning today. My goal weight is 180 lbs. If I make my goal, and you pledged $1.00 per pound, that would be a total donation of $96.00. Somewhere between 300 and 500 people read this blog every time it is posted. If everyone who reads this message donated $1.00 per pound and 300 readers committed we would have the funds to build the first cabin on this ranch. I am putting my money where my mouth is by being the first donor at $10.00 per pound.

I am ultimately responsible for the success of this project, and I want you to know the steps I have taken today to beat my problem. I have talked with a counselor who deals with people with eating disorders and she has taken me on as a client. I am meeting with a personal trainer next week, and I am seeking the name of a good nutritionist in Fort Collins, but I need motivation outside of myself. Please help me climb Mt. Everest and leave a flag (cabin) at the top for facing my last and biggest fear. My tears tell me today that something is changing/shifting in my heart, and I am scared. Christ is working their today. If you are interested in helping you can send me an email at mike@eyesoftheheart.com.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 1:03 pm

    I’m with you brother! We are not meant to do it alone. I beleive, no, I now know, that is the way God wants to work in our lives. Put me down for $1.00 plus you know I’ll be there for the construction, and am always just a phone call away. Once again, your courage is seen, and is an encouragement to others. You have taken the first step. Love you bro!

    • August 21, 2010 5:44 am

      Love you too David. You are one of the major reasons I continue to do what I do. Keep working towards getting that pilots license. It is never to late to leave a dream. Thanks for the committment and your strength in this walk. I love you man!! Just call me Barnabas, and Ralph is my twin brother, Barnabas.

  2. Ralph Mclelland permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:05 pm

    Mt. Everest, a point on earth, the highest point that man can stand on what we call earth and reach his arms toward God. I am fasinated with being able to stand on the point most high. I will be allowed by God to stand on that peak someday on my way to heaven. I can not get there alone. Only by what Christ did for me will I be able to reach the summit. Your earthly goal, your Mt Everest can not be done by yourself, you know that. I will walk with you on this journey to freedom and at the same time you will be helping me. You are a good man Mike McDade but you don’t realize how good you really are. Thanks you for bringing me along on the journey with you and Christ. I am here with you. Love ya man. Ralph

    • August 21, 2010 5:41 am

      Thanks Ralph. This was harder to write than anyone will ever know. I have beat so much in my life on my own. It is hard to change an old dog, but I feel this process will. You are a good man as well, and I am proud to be on this walk with you. We will soon have a cabin to build!

  3. Greg G permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:31 pm

    Brother, you have got what it takes! Great courage and transparency and determination. Put us down for $9.99, and if you will report in the 20th of each month we’ll send the checks!

    • August 21, 2010 5:38 am

      Thanks Greg; your generosity never ceases to amaze me. I am proud to call you my brother, but more importantly my friend in this walk with God. I love you man!!! Pass the word about the retreat. The numbers are coming up!!!

  4. Rosie McDade permalink
    August 20, 2010 5:48 pm

    My most dear to my heart and precious son, it seems like you can do anything you want when you make this kind of committment, espically when Christ is on your side and I know that he is and has been for a long time. Over the last few years so much has been accomplished because of your magnitude of love for your heavenly father..I remember when you went on your fasting diet for such a long time, and lost alot of weight and as your mom I wasn’t excited about you fasting but I also soon learned that your heavenly father was your companion…and you accomplished the loss of weight you wanted, and you stayed healthy….why cause Christ was your companion….and so on this Mt Everest journey, which you will be the one to benefit most, you have soooooo many wonderful friends in christ to support you, along with your wonderful immedite family and then me and your 2 sisters who love you better than life and admire you so very much…we know this is possible..so I would love to pledge more but if I pledge a dollar you know that this is like a million to me…but worth every penny..God bless your sweet heart and know that I will being praying daily for this adventure for you along with my already daily prayer for your counseling clientele…I love you…..Your Mom.

    • August 21, 2010 5:35 am

      Thanks mom! I have fought this battle for to long and allowed my health to decline giving everything I had to everyone else. It feels unbelievably good for people to give back to me on my journey like the outpouring I have received through this blog. God is bigger than all of us can imagine. He lives inside of our greatest dreams and biggest fears, begging us to join him in faith. I love you, and thanks for being my mom!

  5. August 21, 2010 3:59 am

    You can count on us. Put us down for $1.00. We are standing with you.
    Miss you guys!
    Kirk and Kathy Spence

    • August 21, 2010 5:30 am

      Thanks Kathy! We miss you guys as well. Wish you were here. Colorado doesn’t feel the same without you. Hope things are well in Michigan! The boys are loving it here; Michael has become Mr. Popular, and Davis is just Davis, take no prisoners. Love you guys! Tell Kirk I said hello and I am proud of your courage.

  6. August 21, 2010 11:18 am

    I have always struggled with my weight and with six children, I wanted to be able to “play” with them – I mean really play hard – and I was and am now able to do this using P90X to gain strength, gain endurance, lose fat and build muscle. And the cool thing is that I do this with my wife and 15 year old daughter. Very fun. Consider connecting with Coach Wayne at http://www.teamripped.com. I don’t know him personally but he’s a Christ follower and committed to being a good steward with his body. All the best, Matthew.

  7. Charles Williford permalink
    August 23, 2010 5:10 am

    Hey Mike, the victory is won when we admit that we can’t and that He can!!! God has blessed you with a vision for EOTH and has also gifted you with a vision to help both yourself and Sky Corral. I believe in the power of God and in His power working in your life. So, I not only want to accept the challenge, but I want to go you one better. With faith in God and confidence in His working through you, I am commiting $100 toward your goal and I am sending it now, believing that “He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion”. May God bless you and bring people around you to encourage you throughout these next 9 months. Philipians 3:10

    • August 23, 2010 6:59 am

      Charles, youwill never know how much this means to me personally. I love a man who is up for a challenge when life is changing; I have seen this in you as well. Thanks for everything you do for me, and everything that you do for Men’s Adventure. You keep us moving forward and informed with the gifts God has given you. Please forward this link to the entire Men’s Adventure database. Love you, and I am proud to call you my brother!

  8. Lynn Ryan permalink
    August 24, 2010 6:00 am

    Mike, you are an inspiration in more ways than I can describe. I am comitting $4 a pound to this effort. I also will be sending the $600 that was donated for the June Mission Trip – please apply toward this effort.

  9. Erica permalink
    August 25, 2010 7:18 am

    I love your transparency and honesty. Praying for you and cheering you on!

Leave a Reply

