Skip to content

Recognized Perfection?

August 15, 2010

What I love most about Jesus is his humanity; men love camp fires. Now I know these two sentences don’t seem to relate to each other, but they do. Jesus was referred to as a “ gluttonous man, and a wine bibber” in the book of Luke chapter seven. Jesus is hanging out with fishermen, tax collectors, prostitutes and every low life dreg known to inhabit society during his day. His society saw him as an alcoholic with questionable character. So the question is “Would we have recognized his perfection?”, or would we have crucified Him as well? In the movies, He is portrayed like a robot speaking slowly and methodically, like some kind of “Dawn of the Dead” zombie. We have to face the facts here; Jesus must have been a lot of fun to hang out with and listen too.

Now to the camp fire scene; it is late one night as you sit with your brothers around a campfire. The night is dark and hue of the flame is the only thing that separates the group from wilderness. Everyone is here tonight and the oldest (20) at the fire is your friend Peter. The wine is flowing freely, and the master has begun to tell one of His stories about what His Father is like. Suddenly, Andrew farts and totally destroys the seriousness of the moment. Everyone looks around trying not to snicker, but for the most part they are still just boys. Jesus looks sternly at Andrew and slowly begins to smile, then the release of laughter erupts from the group. The roar of the group can be heard in a distance as they laugh at Andrew’s miscue. Jesus returns to his story and the boys our amazed at his knowledge and love for them.

I lost most everyone who is a Pharisee at the word fart. Jesus was a man just like you and I; he took on flesh for us, and the boys he was discipling were probably no more than twenty. In the south, farting is a sin, so I know I have lost all of my friends from the Deep South with this blog. But the men who are reading this blog that have been there around that camp fire know in their heart of hearts that Jesus would have laughed as well. You see my savior is real!

The question that you need to ask yourself is this “would you have recognized Jesus’ perfection?” Has He walked past you today, or would your definitions of cultural norms make you miss our Messiah! Open your eyes!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Bradley Smith permalink
    August 16, 2010 7:00 am

    Mike, in my mind I like to think of Jesus just as you have portrayed Him. I don’t know what kind of in-roads He could have made with the people He was witnessing to with a “pious holy” personality / attitude.
    I think most people today who don’t know Jesus have been turned off by those who won’t really try to find out what “they’re about”.

  2. August 16, 2010 7:27 am

    Yep, a lot of times I have to remind myself that He loves me/us and is not all about “standing at attention” but about me/us having a happy and joyous life on earth and waiting for his coming back for me/us. A lot of people live every day in turmoil as to what others are doing and not enjoying life…”Don’t worry be happy” do la do la

  3. August 16, 2010 9:08 am

    I sometimes wonder if I would have been a Pharisee. I’ve been recovering from that posture for the last decade or two. My friend, Curt Cloninger, who does 1-man theater portrays Jesus in such a free & manly way in so many of his ‘stand-up bits’. Curt ‘gets it’. Check out his stuff at http://www.curtcloninger.com. Thanks Mike!

  4. Jeff Andrechyn permalink
    August 16, 2010 12:08 pm

    I have spoken to a lot of men over the years who would not look at Christianity because it would be the end of “fun” for them and they would have to try their best, if becoming Christians, to endure things that they don’t enjoy. This blog is touching on a very important reality today in our culture.

    I also think a lot of men will not look at Christianity because they don’t want to lose their masculinity (thank-you very much). Yet Jesus knew exactly how to reach a man’s heart. Take them on a three year, high adventure, camping trip!

    Great blog Mike

    Jeff

    • August 16, 2010 1:12 pm

      Thanks Jeff! Your comments mean the world to me because you are one of men I admire in my life, and we have a blast together. I never knew Christianity was this much fun. Love you brother!

  5. Reggie permalink
    August 16, 2010 1:21 pm

    Jeff,

    You hit the place I was for many years. I always planned to get all my fun in before I got converted.
    I think that’s why it’s imperative that people who get this need to stay in the marketplace. We need more role models who walk with God imperfectly but authentically.

    I wonder if Jesus was a teenager in the 70’s if he would have listened to Classic Rock?

  6. Jeff Andrechyn permalink
    August 16, 2010 3:02 pm

    Mike and Reggie

    I look forward to a night around the fire in October. We should record that because I’m sure there will be plenty of laughter 🙂

    Jeff

  7. August 17, 2010 7:26 am

    Hey I forgot something that I had shared with our SS class…Just think about being Jesus brother and playing pranks on him and then latter finding out He is the chosen one? Talk about asking for forgiveness.

    • August 17, 2010 6:41 pm

      That is hilarious Chuck! I guess some of us have more to forgive. Love you brother!

  8. Rhonda permalink
    August 17, 2010 8:28 am

    God made our bodies to do beautiful and insanely funny things! I think every time someone lets loose, God is rolling!!!!!!

    • August 17, 2010 6:42 pm

      A woman with the courage to respond to this blog! I love it!

Leave a Reply

