Skip to content

Your Story-The Power of Your Life

July 30, 2010

I was in the mountains with a pastor friend of mine a couple of months ago, and he said to me, “Mike, I want you to know I don’t trust counselors very much.” I immediately asked him why? He responded that counselors always want to know about you, but they never confide anything about their own story. I laughed at his candidness with me. I told him that was fair, because I didn’t much care for pastors because of the same reason. We pulled the truck over and had a good laugh.

When I was in seminary studying marriage and family therapy, my supervisor at the time would review tapes with me of clients I worked with the week before. It was a wonderful time and experience in learning to help others, but one of the things that she constantly rebuked me about was sharing too much of my own story with others.

You see I have faced addictions (alcohol and drugs), I have filed for bankruptcy because of a company I owned ten years ago, and I have almost lost my wife and family because of my deep insecurities from my past. The failures in my life could have easily destroyed me, but they haven’t; God has taken those deep hurts in my life and used them as tools to help others walk through these same issues. God has healed my heart. Without these stories, I am just someone trying his best to understand. Your story is the Testimony of how God has worked to get you through these experiences, and we have lost it in our churches.

The main reason we have lost Testimony in our churches is because people see how pastors and other church leaders are treated by their congregations. One misstep for a Pastor and he is instantly crucified. This quote comes from a study by Francis Schaffer’s organization, “We found that over 70% of pastors are so stressed out and burned out that they regularly consider leaving the ministry. Thirty-five to forty percent of pastors actually do leave the ministry, most after only five years.” And we wonder why Christians for the first time in history are a minority in this country? Pastors are afraid to tell their testimony (story), or seek help, and they’re even more afraid of allowing one of their congregation to share their story or hurts because of the horrific prosecution they would face. Most people are too afraid to use the greatest tool in their life because of what others will do or say inside the body of Christ! Houston, we have a problem!

In Revelations the Angels sing, “They overcame him (Satan) by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their Testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.” Maybe we should do like the Angels did and unleash the power of our own Testimony. It will help others, and soften the pain of the rough edges of our life. Start by telling a trusted friend; then move to trusted groups, then scream it from mountain tops for all to hear. TELL YOUR STORY!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Scotty permalink
    July 30, 2010 10:46 am

    Let the healing begin!!
    Every chance that we get to share our story continues to soften that spot in our hearts and provides a healing that cannot be gained through any other experience.
    I love you brother!

    • July 30, 2010 1:21 pm

      Love you man! Miss seeing you! Share you story; it affected my life.

  2. July 30, 2010 11:02 am

    Mike you are so right on with this but we need to get back to not being “ashamed” of where we have been or how Christ brought us to where we are now!!

    • July 30, 2010 1:20 pm

      Thanks girl! It is so easy to hide the pain of the past, but it keeps coming up in everyday life. If people would tell their story they would be healed. It takes away the power of the lies we live with. Love me some Jesus!

  3. Greg G permalink
    July 30, 2010 12:58 pm

    Right ON! Great insight.

    • July 30, 2010 1:20 pm

      Thanks broher!!

  4. Susan McDade Trussell permalink
    July 30, 2010 7:30 pm

    Love it !!!! This verse is one of my favorite & is the one that gave my husband the strength he needed to give his testimony!!!! Keep em coming brother(literal) hehehe.

    • July 30, 2010 8:55 pm

      It keeps me rolling, rolling, rolling

Leave a Reply

