Skip to content

True Heroes-My Son

June 29, 2010

Seventeen years ago today one of my heroes was born; that man is my son, John Michael McDade, Jr. Now it may seem strange for a father to call his son one of his heroes, but not for me, because he truly is one of the finest men that I know. When they handed me my son and I saw his beautiful red hair I knew he was special. He never ceases to amaze me in the way he lives his life.

Michael is kind, loving and probably the most thoughtful man I have ever met. He lives with courage,honor and integrity. He treats women with the utmost respect, and when you are Michael’s friend he is loyal, but also challenging. He is not afraid to stand up for what he believes, and is not afraid to confront someone who is hurting someone he loves. I am proud of the man he has become; many people are not sure what to do with Michael because they don’t know many real men. Michael is a real man!

When we decided to move to Colorado, Sandra and I felt that it would be best for her to go first so Michael could start school in October. I sat down with Michael and explained that for the next ninety days he would have to be a son, father and provider of safety and security for his mother and brother. He survived a major car wreck, the anxiety of moving to a new school, helping set up a home, and loving and caring for Sandra and Davis. He would call me once a week and we would catch up on what was going on. Each week I became more and more impressed with his actions. He also got a job within two weeks of hitting the ground in Colorado, which totally amazes me because of the large number of students here who can’t find jobs. Not only did he survive he thrived! As I write, the tears fill my eyes when I think what he has accomplished; most men would have folded under the pressure.

Son, you have what it takes! You are the man! I love you, and I am so proud of the man you have become. I know there are times we don’t see eye to eye, but you are one of my heroes! Happy Birthday Son! I love you, Dad!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg G permalink
    June 29, 2010 10:23 am

    25 or 30 years from now, when Michael has a 17-year-old son, he might begin to be able to appreciate everything that is in your heart right now. He is a rare young man. God is blessing the journey of your family!

  2. Chuck Wall permalink
    June 29, 2010 10:47 am

    Mike that was probably the best one I have read.. It makes me tear up because I too Love my son this way.. He is in Texas working full-time and going to school at night everyday.. He has an apartment and has shown true growth in maturity.. I can fully understand your feelings toward your son. I know you are proud and sounds like you did a great job as a parent… Take care my bother in Christ!!

  3. Ralph K. McLelland permalink
    June 29, 2010 10:57 am

    Hey Michael, Happy B’day brother. Thanks for being the man that you are. Not onlyare you teaching your dad about life but we are all learning from your walk. You keep doing what you are doing, stay on the trail, look to the mountains ffor guidance and you will feel the presence of God. Thanks for being a fine son to a fine man. My birth day was Sunday (52) and I was born with red hair also. I use to be called “Big Red”. Just call me “Big Gray” now. R

  4. Rosie McDade permalink
    June 29, 2010 11:06 am

    Golly Mike what an awesome tribute to Michael!!!!! I share your feelings of knowing how special he is….for reasons different from yours and they would be as a grandmother rather than a parent but still the uniqueness of Michael ‘s ways to show his love for you is a gift. I know he filled my emptiness with his love and phone calls and visits. Always he would tell me “I love you MeMe” before we would hang up the phone or he would leave my house…again his ability to convey is love is a gift…alot people go through life and cannot tell anyone they love them…I love you too son..you have a gift too, to be able to write your feelings and share them the way you do..I love your blogs so keep on keep on sharing…

  5. July 30, 2010 6:35 pm

    Beautiful sentiment

    • July 30, 2010 8:54 pm

      Thanks Unc! Michael is a special man!

Leave a Reply

