Skip to content

Whole Hearted?

May 29, 2010

Wake up America! We have believed the greatest lie ever constructed by Satan for way to long; this lie is called the American Dream. It is amazing how many men that end up in my counseling office are waking up to this great travesty; the big house (with a mortgage you can’t afford), the six-figure job (that is wrecking your health), luxury automobiles (that we can barely afford to put gas in), retirement fund (that has lost money over the last five years), wife (that society says I should trade for a better one) and 2.5 kids does not make you happy. Society labels this problem a mid-life crisis, but living with purpose is what makes you happy! Most men basically exist, plodding through their daily routine of waking-up, going to work, coming home and going to sleep only to do it again the next day. They have no real impact on their world. As I write this blog I am reminded of the movie Ground Hog Day.

A good friend of mine, Gary Barkalow, has helped me to see clearer the reality of living with purpose. You see when you take God out of our schools, out of our court systems, out of our workplaces, and out of our executive branch of government we have removed the guiding force of our life’s purpose. God’s word says in the book of Psalms, “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you.” Satan has effectively removed God from the systems that teach us our purpose. What an unbelievable ploy against America!

If you are a man interested in uncovering your purpose; the calling on your life, then click the link below and join us in Georgia.

http://archive.constantcontact.com/fs051/1102900712327/archive/1103390959022.html

The inspiration for this blog actually came to me Friday when I was on hold waiting for a friend to return to our call. A song came on that I had not heard any many years called Hole Hearted by Extreme. Now Extreme wasn’t one of my all time favorite rock bands, but this tune has always had one of those beats that makes you start tapping your feet, or playing air guitar. I know you know what I mean; don’t act like you don’t play air guitar! This time listening to this song for me was different; I heard the words through a longing heart to know God more. The tears began to flow when they sang this line,”There’s a hole in my heart that can only be filled by you”. The song basically simplifies what I wrote above. Purpose comes from God!

Click on the play button and listen to the song as you read the words. I hope you get as much from this song as I did. Open your eyes and ears and let God speak; He is alive!

Hole Hearted by Extreme

Life’s ambition occupies my time
Priorities confuse the mind
Happiness one step behind
This inner peace I’ve yet to find
Rivers flow into the sea
Yet even the sea is not so full of me
If I’m not blind why can’t I see
That a circle can’t fit
Where a square should be
There’s a hole in my heart
That can only be filled by you
And this hole in my heart
Can’t be filled with the things I do
Hole hearted
Hole hearted
This heart of stone is where I hide
These feet of clay kept warm inside
Day by day less satisfied
Not fade away before I die
Rivers flow into the sea
Yet even the sea is not so full of me
If I’m not blind why can’t I see
That a circle can’t fit
Where a square should be
There’s a hole in my heart
That can only be filled by you
And this hole in my heart
Can’t be filled with the things I do
There’s a hole in my heart
That can only be filled by you
Should have known from the start
I’d fall short with the things I do
Hole hearted
Hole hearted
Hole hearted
Hole hearted

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth Elliott permalink
    May 29, 2010 8:13 am

    Your words today hit me right square in the face. I have longed for words to express these thoughts and you have filled that for me. PLEASE KEEP UP THE WONDERFUL WORK. I thank you so much for sharing Mike!

  2. Jeff Andrechyn permalink
    May 29, 2010 9:37 am

    Hey Mike

    This is an important blog because to step up and say that the American dream might be killing us sounds a little like heresy. We really like the idea of the American dream but so few of us come close to fulfilling it and the banner over us is “doesn’t measure up,” or simply “failure,” or even better is “reject.” How many of us have heard those.

    Lets start a revolution Mike!

    Tell me, what do you think it should look like for us as men?

    Jeff

    • May 31, 2010 5:34 am

      First and foremost is learning to live loved. Until we recive the fullness of God’s love and the love others have for us we cannot give it away. Your tank must be full before you serve others. Then serving others through being who God created you to be in the first place, and not allowing culture, or anyone else besides God, to define what success is for you.

  3. Sam Goad permalink
    May 31, 2010 8:30 am

    Mike, again thank you for the words in your blog. I cannot tell you how much this means to me to be able to read this. As with the other commenter, this one really hit home with me. I to love music and this reminded me so much of a song that is very dear to me. Alan Jackson sings a song called The Way I am. There is a line in the song that says “wish I enjoyed, what makes my living…what I’d do with a willing hand. Some may run, but that ain’t my way. So I’ll just dream and keep on being the way I am.” I have thought about that line so much over the last couple of years. At first I was upset at the way I have spent so much time in my life trying to move up the career ladder that I now find myself not enjoying what I do. You know, the whole be careful what you wish for thing…cause you just may get it. But I know that God is working in my heart to help me see that it is for my family and that I have to take my joy from them. When I allow Got into my heart to see that work is just a means to an end, that I should take my joy from Family, Church (volunteering and tithing), Freinds…etc. It puts it all into perspective for me. At least for me the American dream I should be chasing is at home…not in the work place. Thanks again brother.

Leave a Reply

