Skip to content

True Heroes-Rosie McDade

May 10, 2010

 

I wanted to post this on Mother’s Day, but I didn’t think many people would read it because everyone is so busy. My mom has touched a lot of lives over the years and I wanted everyone to have the opportunity to read this one and respond with a comment. I think the hardest part is where do you start?

 I think you have to start with faith. As I looked back yesterday about what I was thankful for, it was obvious that my mom passed to each of her children incredible faith in God. Not many people know this about our family, but my dad had a heart attack at age 32 when we lived in Meridian. My mom was 32 with three small children (7, 3 and 3 months). We lost everything over the next 12 months and were forced to move to Jackson to live with my grandparents. During all of that her faith never wavered; she took care of my father, loved on all of us, and ran our household. How she did it still amazes me. She taught me to be persistent and persevere.  I think my sister Susan put it best yesterday on Facebook, “Thank for being such a great Mom!!! Not just to me, but many of my friends and now our kids. Your legacy of FAITH in Jesus Christ is remarkable and one that will carry on for generations.” I thank God for your faith mom!

I think the next component of my mom’s character that stands out for me is that deep in her heart she is a teacher. My mom has the patience of Job; she taught me how to throw a baseball, how to clean my room, how to balance a checkbook, and how to love others. One of my funniest memories is of her trying to teach me how to drive a standard transmission in our VW Convertible. She would make me pull up on the hill leaving Jitney turning on to HWY 80. She said, “If you can get over that hill you  can drive a standard”; I would bounce and bounce, and then there would be a little tension and we would burst out laughing at each other. Thanks for being a great teacher mom.

 The last piece of my mom that so many people can attest to is she is a caregiver. She carries the image of God in this way. Our house was like a commune. If you needed a place to hang out, sleep, or live our home was the place to be. She loved others the way she loved her own children.  She gave of herself always. She was a counselor, parent, friend, and role model for hundreds of children that called our house their second home. Because of her love, I have many siblings that I love and cherish besides my biological sisters, Susan and Allison. 

 You truly are one of my heroes. Thanks for loving everyone unconditionally and teaching me to see through the eyes of my heart! You have helped to mold me into the man I am today, and for that I am eternally grateful! I love you MOM!

If you have a favorite Rosie story leave it in the comment section!!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosie McDade permalink
    May 11, 2010 7:40 pm

    Mike, thanks for writing such a sweet, kind, blog about me. I know you love me and we have lots of fun together…we seem to laugh alot….you do remind me of your dad…he use to say I was a keeper because I always laughed at his jokes or just funny things he would say. When you left in February boy did I have some adjusting to do, but with the grace of god I have adjusted, I am not saying I like it, I just know you are happy and thats wonderful for a mom to know…just keep on keep on calling and that helps….I am extremely proud of your profound love of Jesus Christ and his influence on your life and the love you have for wanting to share with others….I know I have been blessed, with a husband that loved me, three children that love me and now I have 6 precious grandchildren…..Plus I have received many many rewards by loving lots of other youth in Clinton Ms. Again thanks Mike for your kind words…… I love you better than life….MOM!!!!!!!!

  2. May 17, 2010 7:13 pm

    What a beautiful tribute to your Mom, Mike. Loved reading this; I always think of your mother with a smile.

Leave a Reply

