Skip to content

Bring Me Back to Life

May 7, 2010

One of my best friends on the planet is a man named Scott Richardson, and we have been the best of friends for last seven or eight years. Scott is on my board of directors for Eyes of the Heart Ministries, and is very active in our ministry to men. Scott and I have something in common about how we hear from God sometimes; we hear His words in modern music. Whenever I am having a tough time Scott’s call can really lift my spirit. I love you brother!

Yesterday was one of those days for me, and then this morning I got an email from him explaining that God spoke to him through a song by a group called Evanescence. The title of the song is Bring Me Back to Life. There are many days working in ministry when you wonder if you’re doing the right thing. The sacrifice is heavy! God doesn’t always pay well, and it seems like your always giving yourself away. Scott soothed some of that pain with this comment, “You know how music speaks to me. Well, this came on and I thought about you and how Eyes of the Heart can Bring Men Back to Life. Love ya brother!”

The tears tell me as I write that I needed to hear these words from a friend today. Thanks for being there for me Scott! I am just the tool that God uses to open the Eyes of the Heart! I love you friend! Thanks for allowing God to use you to speak to me. Thanks for waking me up Jesus!

I hope you enjoy the song. Click on the play arrow below the title of the song under the number 02, and listen to the music while you read the words and let God speak to you about where so many men in this world are today! Wake me up inside!!!

Bring Me Back to Life By Evanescence

02 – https://eyesoftheheart.files.wordpress.com/2010/05/02-bring-me-to-life.mp3

How can you see into my eyes like open doors
leading you down into my core
where I’ve become so numb without a soul my spirit sleeping somewhere cold
until you find it there and lead it back home

(Wake me up)
Wake me up inside
(I can’t wake up)
Wake me up inside
(Save me)
call my name and save me from the dark
(Wake me up)
bid my blood to run
(I can’t wake up)
before I come undone
(Save me)
save me from the nothing I’ve become

now that I know what I’m without
you can’t just leave me
breathe into me and make me real
bring me to life

(Wake me up)
Wake me up inside
(I can’t wake up)
Wake me up inside
(Save me)
call my name and save me from the dark
(Wake me up)
bid my blood to run
(I can’t wake up)
before I come undone
(Save me)
save me from the nothing I’ve become

Bring me to life
(I’ve been living a lie, there’s nothing inside)
Bring me to life

frozen inside without your touch without your love darling only you are the life among the dead

all this time I can’t believe I couldn’t see
kept in the dark but you were there in front of me
I’ve been sleeping a thousand years it seems
got to open my eyes to everything
without a thought without a voice without a soul
don’t let me die here
there must be something more
bring me to life

(Wake me up)
Wake me up inside
(I can’t wake up)
Wake me up inside
(Save me)
call my name and save me from the dark
(Wake me up)
bid my blood to run
(I can’t wake up)
before I come undone
(Save me)
save me from the nothing I’ve become

(Bring me to life)
I’ve been living a lie, there’s nothing inside
(Bring me to life)

GOD STILL SPEAKS! OPEN YOUR HEART!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 7:36 pm

    I wanted to comment on this because I too feel God speaks through some uh, “secular” music. Most of the Christian people I know (not all) would probably run screaming into the night or hold a prayer meeting for me if they were to look into my MP-3 player play list! I’ve always thought that the words of any great love song can be thought of as being about our relationship with God…

    Also,

    “There are many days working in ministry when you wonder if you’re doing the right thing. The sacrifice is heavy! God doesn’t always pay well, and it seems like your always giving yourself away”

    I understand this perspective, I feel this way at times too! But the reality is that I’ve been

    paid over and over for everything I’ve done! When I remember how good God has been to

    me,and how good He is to me in my now my heart fills with love for Him!

Leave a Reply

