Skip to content

Ragtop Man

April 29, 2010

People who know me well know that I am a Ford Mustang nut. Three of my friends in high school had mustangs and we were constantly racing around town, burning tires, listening to REO Speedwagon and just being teenagers. There was one of the three that I really loved more than the others; it was a white 1973 convertible with a 351 Cleveland and it belonged to my friend Rod. To say this car was fun is the understatement of the century. It was fast, cool and it was a ragtop. I love the sensation of the wind blowing your hair in a car with the top down.

If you can’t tell I am a Ragtop Man!

One night during the summer way back when, we had a wreck in that car on HWY 80 between Jackson and Clinton. Not just a wreck, it was a bad wreck and both cars were totaled. Rod was the only one that was hurt; I think he cracked his back and broke his foot, but somehow we all walked away. Even though we hit the car on my side I sustained no injuries at all. It was truly a miracle we were not killed. I can remember the feeling that God was somehow there watching over us.

The worse thing about the wreck was Rod’s car was gone. I don’t remember who was more depressed Rod, Jeff or me. You really don’t remember how things impacted you until you take the time to reflect. God new I loved that car, and I hurt for my friend.

Years later my wife and I were driving in the country near Morton, MS; basically, we were lost. We were looking for a new campground that was being built, but for the life of me we couldn’t find it. After numerous attempts to locate Jellystone Park I decided it was time to turn around and go home, so we pulled into this little street and there it was. Parked in the driveway of this country house was a 1973 Convertible Mustang with a big For Sale sign. We stopped and I begged Sandra to go to the door. She is prettier than I am and has a way about her that charms men. She held four fingers behind her back meaning four thousand dollars, and the rest is history. It was a steal! I bought my dream mustang that day.

Now I am sure that many of you are reading this going, “Well, where is God in this?” That is just coincidence. I have learned in life there is no such thing as coincidence. My convertible Mustang is probably one of my greatest tools in ministering to young men, it arouses my lovely wife on date night, and I minister to men at car shows every chance I get. God was there then, and He is here now. God loves Mustangs! Thanks Rod for the memories.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 6:04 pm

    NICE! Does it date me that I have these same kind of memories in a ’88 Mustang listening to Big Head Todd and the Monsters? Miss talking to you man. Hope all is well on the new adventure. Keep on truckin’.

  2. Willy permalink
    May 8, 2010 8:43 am

    I am coming to see you dude and ride through the mountains with the top down this Summer!

Leave a Reply

