Skip to content

Meaningless?

April 26, 2010

I was reminded this weekend while reading a book about a conversation I had with one of my heroes (Uncle Tom) in October a couple of years ago. It was the October before he passed away in January, and I will always thank God for that time. I had the chance to tell him how much he meant to me, and the impact that he had on my life as he fathered me growing up. It was good for both of our souls, but something he said during this ordained conversation became much clearer this weekend for me.

Uncle Tom told me that he had some real regrets about his life; He said to me, “The things I felt like were important as I reflect back are not the things that were actually important.” He said to me Mike, “You understand what I am saying to you years before I got the message, and I am proud of you.” I was honored because he was a giant in my eyes. I knew he meant he wished he would have spent more time at home and less time at work; we laughed about how culture shields us from the real truth. It was special for him as evidenced by his tears.

This weekend I had the opportunity to hear Donald Miller speak about his new book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years. Sandra decided that Donald and I must be drinking from the same Kool-Aid glass. We poked each other every time he said something that I say to my kids, her or anyone who will listen. It was like literally I had written this book. I highly recommend the book.

You see the book is about looking at your life like your filming a movie, and the question that reached in and grasped my heart was, “Is your life meaningless?” Now I would love to tell you that my life has great purpose and I am changing the world, but is it really? As I pondered this question his next statement floored me. Donald said to the audience, “Then that is your choice, and that is the choice I have too.”

I could feel my mind begin to make excuses why I wasn’t changing the world: I don’t have enough money, I just want to be happy, I am just looking for security, and so on and so on…….. You get the point! In his book he describes his journey of becoming someone who talks about life to someone who is doing life. I woke up Saturday with a new fever for life. Life is something you must fight for constantly.

Just suppose you are at the end of your life and your first encounter with God is when he takes you to his custom media room and he pops in the movie of your life into his DVD Player with surround sound and begins the movie. Have you chosen to change the world? Would your life be meaningless? What would God say?

I refuse to allow my life to be meaningless! If you feel your life is meaningless the equation is simple=change!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ralph K McLelland permalink
    April 26, 2010 12:56 pm

    If you remember when I called you last night I was telling you about a book I had just bought and could not put it down. As I described it you said I know, I heard the guy, Donald Miller speak yesterday. The thing that keeps coming back to me is the question he asked, “What are you and God going to talk about when you get to Heaven?” I hope I’m going to have a long conversation with God. Not about the bad that I struggle with everyday but the good things I work on. Thanks Donald Millwe for the book and thank you to McDade. Barnabus

    Proverbs 27:17

  2. KCBruce permalink
    April 26, 2010 1:08 pm

    Mike, this is so true. And while these sorts of questions are scarier than hell (literally), they also gives me great hope. If I can confront my life with the courage required to admit that it may not have been very meaningful, then I can also address the changes needed with that courage. And I can stop fooling myself in the meantime that what I’m doing is really all that big of a deal.

    Whoosh! I think I’m getting an experience of what “baptized by fire” really means. It’s sort of like a forest fire that cleans the system out and allows one to start afresh.

    Thanks for having the courage to even raise these issues for all of us.

Leave a Reply

