Skip to content

Prisoner of the Past

April 16, 2010

So many people I meet each day live in their pasts. It is amazing how much the wounds of our younger years define the present and even the futures that we live. I have yet to meet a person who didn’t carry wounds. Now some wounds are not as extreme as others. Having a verbally abusive father or mother doesn’t equal being sexually abused for twenty years, but the pain of each type of wound is real to the person experiencing it. Many people are defined by their brokenness.

I ran across a poem I wrote a couple of years ago and God prompted me to write this blog; the poem is called The Narrow Path.

The Narrow Path

The past does not exist;
except within your mind.

The consequences of life are real,
but they can be left behind.

If your wounds define your life;
you are a prisoner who is blind.

You must be willing to see,
and explore inside yourself.

The key to life is not to change the past,
but to change yourself.

The point is the only thing you can change is yourself. Pain is a part of life. God does not promise that we will have a life void of pain. If you want to receive healing you have to tell your story. When you have told your story enough the pain slowly begins to diminish, and then your story becomes a testimony to the power of Jesus Christ in your life (James 5:16).

If you are struggling let someone shine a mirror on your life! The first step you must embrace is the desire for a change.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Page permalink
    April 16, 2010 3:49 pm

    I love, love, love that poem.

  2. Ralph McLelland permalink
    April 16, 2010 4:16 pm

    Thats a good one bro. So many times in the past I have not wanted to tell my story, share my hurts and bad experiences. It gave me the feeling that I was making someone look bad. Somewhat of a feeling that I was betraying those that raised me. A lot of the wounds we receive are not done to purpously hurt us. Matter of fact none of mine were. I was being made strong. They are just passed down generation to gegeration. As people ask me the question, how ya doing ? My response is, Well, I’m doing as good as I can with what I got to work with, I just ain’t got much to work with. The good thing about it is that I am getting more to work with everyday, gaining knowledge as I walk with other men along this journey. I am learning how to walk with Christ. He’s been there all along. I just notice Him now. Barnabus LOL !!!

    • April 16, 2010 4:56 pm

      You are the man Ralph and I can’t think of anyone else that I have walked with that gets the messasge as well as you! I am proud to call you my brother! Love you man!

  3. April 16, 2010 4:53 pm

    Thanks Page! That means a lot to me coming from you! We survived!

  4. April 19, 2010 9:56 am

    Thanks Mike

    I love your honesty Mike. It always goes right to the heart of the matter. I think for so many of us we have made our wounds our identity and struggle with the idea of leaving it behind to embrace the freedom from prison Jesus offers.

    Jeff

  5. April 19, 2010 9:58 am

    I love this poem!! How can I get a copy????

Leave a Reply

