Skip to content

The Great Adventure

April 8, 2010

I had the privilege of doing a retreat in February for a group of men from Wesson, MS and the surrounding areas. One of these guys, Bubba Howell, is one of my greatest allies in the fight for the hearts of men. He is tireless in the pursuit of others, helping them to understand how to live from the heart. There is nothing as important as the battle for your own heart in your life. If you don’t believe this statement spend some time in the Psalms.

I have done retreats with as little as five guys and as much as fifty or more, but there seems to be a sweet spot in helping men as a group find their hearts. That number is between six and ten. I call my version of the retreat The Great Adventure, but we affectionately call it “Deer Camp”. I have to take a minute and thank Phil Hardin for teaching me this format, and the importance of a man’s story in the restoration of a man’s heart.

This particular retreat I combined a couple of different formats I have learned over the years to help men understand their story, embrace the impact of their past, and move into restoration of their hearts with other men helping them along as true brothers. It was a totally moving experience for me as well.

In one of the questionnaires, one of the guys wrote the best quote to describe this retreat and its importance, “We came here as a group of men, but we leave as a Band of Brothers”. There is nothing as powerful as the opportunity to tell your story, but having that story listened to with love, caring and no judgment. Grace is the key to life; just ask Jesus!

If you have a group of men that you would like to see step into the deep waters with God contact me at mike@eyesoftheheart.com about scheduling a “Deer Camp”. The waters fine!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 2:20 pm

    Just for the record: Bubba Howell is a GREAT man, and I’m one of his fans.

  2. April 10, 2010 9:10 pm

    Great to get an update. Does this mean that Jesus was right after all when he decided to share life with 12 and then share it even more with three? I am so confused? Not really, but driving down Lakeland you would think Jesus did just the opposite! You know what I mean!

Leave a Reply

