Skip to content

Good Friday?

April 2, 2010

I have always wondered why we call the Friday before Easter Good Friday; now I understand the obvious answer of dying for my sins, but really Good Friday? The Man I have chosen to pattern my life after died today. He suffered excruciating pain and humiliation for me? It is so easy to look forward to Sunday and the resurrection because we love a feel good story, but I ask my readers today to walk with a heavy heart and remember what happened on this day. If you have lost a father, brother or a really good friend it should be easy, because today I lost all three. Jesus is my father, brother and my friend.

Throughout scripture God’s word points to the crucifixion of a savior. David writes in Psalm 22, “Dogs have surrounded me; a band of evil men has encircled me, they have pierced my hands and feet. I can count my bones; people stare and gloat over me. They divide my garments among them and cast lots for my clothing.”

Isaiah writes about Christ as well in Isaiah 53, “But he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him and by his wounds we are healed.”

You see the amazing part of these scriptures is that they were written a thousand years before his death. It was inevitable that Jesus must die for us. The whole Bible pointed to this day. I am sure it still was not easy for Jesus to face the pain and humiliation knowing He must fulfill his destiny. Knowing that today He must face death.

This morning I tried to think about what it must have been like to know you were dying for others. I would die for my children, my wife, my mother, my sisters and their families, and many good friends, but would I give up my life for someone who I didn’t even know?

The only way someone could do something like that is with LOVE! Thank you God for loving me! Pray for those today who don’t understand the depth of this kind of love.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. greg permalink
    April 2, 2010 9:40 am

    Few of us have grown up following the Lenten traditions that direct us to actually “sit with” the uncomfortable, distressing parts of the Passions story. I am sad today, even knowing the awesome events in the next chapter. I’d encourage anyone to attend a Good Friday service today/tonight – even Baptists are having them now!
    Bro, thanks again for sharing your great heart!

  2. April 7, 2010 8:41 am

    Mike, great word.

    Good Friday sure is bitter sweet, as you say. On one hand, our friend and brother died. That is enough reason for a lifetime of mourning.

    On the other hand, he loved us so much, that he was GLAD to die for us. Hebrews 12 says “for the joy set before him endured the cross.” What joy did Jesus lack?

    Us.

    So the cross (Good Friday) tells us of his great love. And that is enough reason for a lifetime of rejoicing.

    Oh the mysteries of Christ, who can turn our mourning into gladness.

    Sam

Leave a comment