Skip to content

Friendship

March 30, 2010

Don’t ever under estimate the importance of true friendship in your life. This weekend I spent three days with two guys who have become allies in the fight for men’s hearts. In ministry work many times there are egos involved that keep two different ministries from joining forces; this is not the case with Gene Gunalda, Ralph McLelland and me. We have become the best of friends, and we pour our souls into each other’s lives. Together we are much more effective in this war for the heart’s of men than separate. They are my brothers.

We met two years ago when I spoke at a group at their church called Men’s Adventure. They told me they lost half the class when I spoke because I scared most of the guys to death, but they caught the vision and ran with it. They are men who fight for their own hearts, other men, their wives and the Kingdom of God. I am proud of both of them, and I am happy they have become two of my best friends. I love you guys!

We spent the weekend at a ranch that we are doing a construction mission trip together in June named Sky Corral in Colorado. Sky Corral is a Christian ranch that works to help families live and understand the Christian life through God’s creation. After reviewing the construction site Friday morning, we hiked to the top of a mountain behind the ranch that afternoon. The snow began to fall as we hiked towards the peak; it was truly a mystical moment. It felt like the opening scene of the Last Mohicans except with a dusting of snow. I told Ralph and Gene how glad I was they were there, and at that moment I realized how much I missed their camaraderie.

When I think of Gene and Ralph I am reminded of what Jesus said to his disciples in the book of John, “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.” This is how I feel about these two guys. They know my story and accept me with no judgment, but more importantly they fight at my side. God Bless you guys! I can’t wait to see you in June.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Roane Hunter permalink
    March 31, 2010 1:24 pm

    Love the blog and especially this one because it was about three of my favorite people in my all time “friendhsip hall of fame”!!

    Mike, Ralph, and Gene – each of you encourage me and give me strength and hope to continue to be engaged in “church” world because it can seem we are fighting such an uphill battle at times with guys that have been indoctrinated into the church performance trap. But God is faithful and on occasion brings those that desire freedom across our paths to invite them into the battle for their hearts and the hearts of others. I told Phil last night, I know why I love recovery ministry so much – because the people that engage in recovery are simply broken and willing to be honest about the fact they need help and need each other to survive. In church world – to quote the great theologian Borat – “not so much”!

    Keep on keeping on my brothers! I love you guys!

    Bend the sails!

Leave a Reply

