Skip to content

True Heroes-My Uncle Tom

March 25, 2010

Every now and then I write about people that are true heroes in my eyes. My heart hurts today for one of those men that have been a part of my life, Tom Piner. You see Tom Piner was Uncle Tom to me. He was married to my mother’s sister, Aunt Betty. Uncle Tom passed away a few years ago.

Tom was a kind and gentle man that always had a servant’s heart. I would go to Houston, TX during the summers and spend a month with my cousins. Uncle Tom was always kind and loving towards me. He had a gentle spirit that most men just don’t have. He was masculine without having to be the tough guy. He taught me how to catch crabs, hook a trot line, and get gum off of your hands (family joke). He had three daughters, Anne, Pam and Carol that he treated like princesses. His whole family worshipped the ground that he walked on. He was a man! He was so humble he wouldn’t like the fact I wrote this blog about him.
Now I never knew Uncle Tom as a Christian until much later in life, but he carried the characteristics of Christ as long as I have known him. After retirement, he was more active serving others than any man I have ever known. We look at pastors, missionaries, and Christian writers as today’s heroes; this is a total fallacy. The real heroes are the men that provide for their families both financially and emotionally. You see what Uncle Tom had was love in his heart for those around him!

You are my hero Uncle Tom, and I miss seeing you more than you will ever know! Happy Birthday Friend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michael Root permalink
    March 25, 2010 2:06 pm

    I AGREE WITH YOU 100%! PROVIDING FOR YOUR FAMILY FINANCIALLY & EMOTIONALLY IS A FULL TIME JOB! BEING NORMAL IS A CONSTANT STRUGGLE WITH HARD!

Leave a Reply

