Skip to content

Child-Like Faith-My Sledding Adventure

March 21, 2010

Today I was reminded of what it means to live with child-like faith. It snowed between eight and ten inches in Fort Collins this past Thursday night, so Saturday my wife and sons convinced me to try sledding with them instead of watching basketball.

We arrived at a snow covered hill west of town called CSU Hill. There were hundreds of people enjoying the warm sun and the snow pack that still covered the hill. Parents and children alike were enjoying the adventure wonderland. My sons took off on their cheap Wal-Mart sleds with no fear like old pro’s; they had been to the hill numerous times over the past couple of months. After their ascent back up the hill, I heard my heart jump inside my chest. My youngest sled warrior son challenged my manhood innocently with these words, “Come on dad try it”. Many of you know that I am 46 years old, but at that very moment I felt twelve again standing at the end of a high diving board (family joke).

I sat on the sled and took lessons from my oldest, Michael. “Keep your feet in the sled and hold on”, I believe were his exact words. My wife gave me a slight wink as I took my place on the sled. I couldn’t tell if she was proud of me, or laughing at me on the inside. Then it started!!!

Michael quickly pushed me for ten or fifteen feet, and soon I was barreling down the side of the hill. If anyone had filmed my famous run they would have laughed at the size of my smile and the fear in my eyes. It was about two-thirds of the way down the hill when I realized I was careening towards two ramps that no one had mentioned at the top of the hill. The ramps were between two and three feet high, which would offer the height necessary to turn me into a 46 year old human missile. Everything inside of me wanted to turn the sled, but my heart wouldn’t allow it.

Within a few seconds I was air born, and the sled was nowhere to be found. I was FLYING!! It was probably no more than ten or fifteen feet, but for just a moment I felt like an eagle in flight. Then I hit the ground and rolled end over end in the snow, laughing as I came to a stop. The laughter erupted from atop the hill as I stood to my feet. I bowed to the crowd and looked back up the hill toward my family. They joined in on the laughter chorus after they knew I wasn’t hurt. I felt more alive than I had in months. Now some of you may think I am crazy, so you are the ones I am challenging.

Go adventure with the ones you love; act like a kid again. Enjoy the ones you love! Thanks for the day Jesus!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. KCBruce permalink
    March 21, 2010 7:44 pm

    Woo-hoo! Go Dad!

  2. March 22, 2010 6:02 am

    I haven’t felt that alive in a while Bruce! It was awesome.

Leave a Reply

