Skip to content

For You

February 7, 2010

My hearts cries out for the youth of today; they are the least listened to group in the history of our existence. I spend a lot of time with young people and I see their struggles. Their music, IPOD’s, cell phones, video games and television are parenting them more than we are. Many of my friends say things like, “I am not their friend; I am their parent.” Well look how well that is working. Don’t get me wrong they need structure and discipline, but more importantly they need to feel secure and loved. Jesus was pretty hard on people who hurt children.

This blog was born while I listened to a group that most of my readers in this blog would dismiss because of the way their music sounds, but the lyrics describe the world of our children better than any I have ever heard. Appropriately, the song is named “For You”. I don’t think I need to describe where I am going with this; the song does it for me. Listen to the song as you read the words!

For You (Staind)

To my mother, to my father,
It’s your son or it’s your daughter,
Are my screams loud enough for you to hear me?
Should I turn this up for you?

I sit here locked inside my head
Remembering everything you’ve said
This silence gets us nowhere!
Gets us nowhere way too fast!

The silence is what kills me
I need someone here to help me
But you don’t know how to listen
And let me make my decisions

I sit here locked
inside my head remembering everything you’ve said
The silence gets us nowhere!
Gets us nowhere way too fast!

All your insults and your curses make
me feel like I’m not a person
And I feel like I am nothing but
you made me so do something
‘Cause I’m fucked up because you are
Need attention, attention you couldn’t give

‘Cause I sit here locked inside my head
Remembering everything you’ve said
This silence gets us nowhere!
Gets us nowhere way to fast

I DON’T apologize for the language; it is real (pain). If you cried after you listened to this song like I did then something is wrong. If you have a problem listening and loving your children the problem is YOURS NOT THERES! Get Help and restore their lives!! They need a friend as much as they need a parent.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 7:06 am

    I remain speechless. You truly are wonderful. Nice Inspiration there!

    • February 9, 2010 1:45 pm

      Thanks for your kind words. The youth of our day are sreaming for attention, and we are ignoring their crys. Bless you

Leave a Reply

