Skip to content

Simple Man

February 1, 2010

One of the greatest Christian songs I have ever heard was written by a group that many people don’t associate with church, religion or anything very spiritual. This will come as a surprise to many of you because the group is Lynard Skynard, and the song is Simple Man. I was riding down the road a couple of years ago in one of my old hot rods when this song came on. I had heard it a million times, sang it a million more and partied to it many times in the late 70’s and early 80’s, but never listened closely to the words. I had to pull the car over as I listened; the tears came from deep in my heart. The message that I had been preaching to anyone who would listen to me over the last ten years was captured in the verses of a vintage rock and roll song from one of the bands that I loved the most growing up.

Simple Man is now a staple song that is played at every retreat that we do at Eyes of the Heart. Many of the men that come to our events were no different than me at that point in their lives, and they need to know that they are welcome and accepted. Something about music relaxes the soul, and allows us to let down the mask that we live with every day. We now have common experiences which to draw from; music is the conduit.

I lost many of the people who would normally finish reading this blog in the first paragraph (Pharisees). Preconceived judgments and Christian societal views dismiss anything they consider outside the box. What we don’t seem to realize as followers is that God is always there; even in the music of a 70’s southern rock band. You see when we got together back in the day to ride around, listen to music and well even party; we were worshipping and actual looking for God! God is everywhere!! Open your eyes!!

I have attached the words to the song in this blog. Go download the song, print the lyrics from this blog, and get to a quiet place. Listen to the message and take it to heart. I now live the life of a Simple Man. This song is a gift from a mother to a son, and from God to us!

Simple Man-Lynard Skynard
Mama told me when I was young
Come sit beside me, my only son
And listen closely to what I say.
And if you do this
It will help you some sunny day.

Take your time… Don’t live too fast,
Troubles will come and they will pass.
Go find a woman and you’ll find love,
And don’t forget son,
There is someone up above.

And be a simple kind of man.
Be something you love and understand.
Be a simple kind of man.
Wont you do this for me son,
If you can?

Forget your lust for the rich man’s gold
All that you need is in your soul,
And you can do this if you try.
All that I want for you my son,
Is to be satisfied.

And be a simple kind of man.
Be something you love and understand.
Be a simple kind of man.
Wont you do this for me son,
If you can?

Boy, don’t you worry… You’ll find yourself.
Follow you heart and nothing else.
And you can do this if you try.
All I want for you my son,
Is to be satisfied.

And be a simple kind of man.
Be something you love and understand.
Be a simple kind of man.
Wont you do this for me son,
If you can?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ramona permalink
    February 2, 2010 6:38 am

    I love this

    • February 2, 2010 10:59 am

      Thanks Ramona for the kind words. I love the fact that so many people enjoyed this one. It is a heart felt piece. I love to write about how I see God in places that everyone else either judges, conndems or rejects because of the church cultural stereotypes that say this or that is bad. You must look deeper for God in everything. HE IS THERE! If you want I can add you to the list. I want always make you happy with what I put down, but I will always write from my heart.

Leave a Reply

