Skip to content

What do We do with Anger?

January 22, 2010

This article is a little more personal than most I have written for this blog. You see I have a problem, and my problem is anger. Now most people that I see in my counseling practice have the same problem. Our society just doesn’t know how to deal with anger in a healthy manner. Most people fall into three camps in dealing with their anger. The first group tends to keep their anger bottled up inside. The second group, who I am a member of, explodes with everyone else left to pick up the pieces and the last group tends to blame others for causing their anger. What are we to do with anger?

Did you know that Jesus got angry? Take the time to read Mark 3: 1-6. Basically Jesus heals a man’s hand on the Sabbath in the synagogue in front of the religious people of his day. In verse five it reads, “He looked around at them in anger and, deeply distressed at their stubborn hearts, said to the man, Stretch out your hand. He stretched it out, and his hand was completely restored.” Jesus uses his anger for good; he restores a man. The next time you feel your anger rise, check the reality of the situation. First is it worth getting angry over? Second, how can I use my anger for good. God knows your emotional state; He even knows if you are angry with him. Our God is much bigger than our anger and he loves us know matter how we feel from day to day. Do something positive with your anger.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyonmiller permalink
    January 23, 2010 12:20 am

    Big slap back to my face as I read this. I pray God use my frustation and anger and turn it and use it for good.

  2. January 29, 2010 7:53 pm

    I think this one is a big slap in the face to everyone who has anger issues including me. Take care Lyon.

Leave a Reply

