Skip to content

Living or Dying

January 6, 2010

My son Davis and I made up a cool handshake this morning and at the end of the hand slaps, fist bumps and handshakes we both say “Living or Dying” and point upward towards God. Davis lives with such passion and strength; others would call it reckless abandon. It saddens me though because of the number of people I know who just exist.  It is not enough to live in our constructed cultural existence; anyone who is truthful will themselves will tell you that the American dream with our  six figure incomes, prestigious jobs, homes with mortgages we can’t afford  and our relentless and overwhelming schedules is just not working. So why are we so busy? And what are we getting from it?

In John Chapter 10 Jesus says, “I have come so they may have life”. He’s not talking about eternal life; he is talking now. I don’t know about you but I am tired of the busyness I project on to my children, and I am tired of feeling this sense of their must be something more. If we want to truly live we must seek life! Not the life Hollywood, Washington or even our churches tell us is real, but what is real.

In Matthew Chapter 7 Jesus says, “But small is the gate and narrow the path that leads to life and few men find it.” I want to be one of those few men! I want you to be one of those chosen people who find true life.   At Eyes of the Heart Ministries number one focus is to teach others the difference between knowing the path and walking the path. You’re either Living or Dying! What’s your choice?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

